Senate Standing Committee on Education and Employment

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Supplementary Budget Estimates 2013-2014

Agency - Tertiary Education Quality & Standards Agency

Department of Education Question No. ED0175_14

Senator McKenzie asked on 20 November 2013, Hansard page 49

Question

TEQSA - Reference groups which Universities are represented

TEQSA has provided the following response.

CHAIR: In terms of consulting with universities—and I go back to a comment you made earlier, where they have actually engaged with us—what is the process of consultation that you embark on? Do you approach universities directly? Or was there a roundtable?

Dr Nicoll: We have been having meetings with the peak bodies, including Universities Australia, on a regular basis since we have existed. We have a number of reference groups on which the universities are well represented.

CHAIR: Could you table a list of those references? Dr Nicoll: I am very happy to.

CHAIR: Thank you—and the membership of those. Dr Nicoll: Very happy to.

Answer

TEQSA has provided the following response.

The TEQSA Reference Groups and their members are:

Regulatory Risk, led by Commissioner lan Hawke:

- Mr Steve Somogyi Vice President Resources and Chief Operating Officer, RMIT University (TEQSA nominee)
- Mr Charles Littrell Executive General Manager, Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (TEQSA nominee)
- Ms Kate Gascoigne Manager, Institutional Planning and Performance, Finance and Planning Group, University of Melbourne (Universities Australia ("UA") nominee)
- Mr Tony Heywood Registrar and Deputy President (Administration), Campion College (Council of Private Higher Educaiton ("COPHE") nominee)
- Dr George Brown Director of Teaching and Learning, Australian Institute of Business (Australian Council for Private Education and Training ("ACPET") nominee)
- Ms Maria Peters Director and CEO, Chisholm Institute of TAFE (TAFE Directors Australia ("TDA") nominee)

SQ13-000670

Information Collection, led by Commissioner Michael Wells:

- Ms Carol McKenzie Academic Development Director, Higher Education Australasia Study Group (ACPET nominee)
- Mr Adrian McComb Executive Officer, COPHE (COPHE nominee)
- Mr Stuart Hamilton formerly of the Victorian Skills Commission (TEQSA nominee)
- Professor Merran Evans Pro Vice-Chancellor Planning and Quality, Monash University (TEQSA nominee)
- Mr David de Bellis Head, Planning Services Unit, Flinders University (UA nominee)
- Ms Fleur Goulding Research and Planning Manager, Holmesglen Institute (TDA nominee)

Regulation and Quality Assessment, led by Commissioner Dorte Kristoffersen:

- Professor Robert Elliot Pro Vice-Chancellor (International and Quality) University of the Sunshine Coast (TEQSA nominee)
- Professor Geoffrey Crisp Dean of Learning and Teaching RMIT University (TEQSA nominee)
- Professor Anne Jones Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and Students) Victoria university (TDA nominee)
- Ms Julie Renwick Manager, Academic Governance & Compliance University of Wollongong (COPHE nominee)
- A/Professor Beverley Thiele Pro Vice Chancellor Quality and Standards Murdoch University (UA nominee)
- Mr Ben Vivekanandan Manager, Policy & Research ACPET (ACPET nominee)