Senate Standing Committee on Education and Employment

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Supplementary Budget Estimates 2013-2014

Cross Portfolio

Department of Education Question No. ED0084_14 **Senator Carr provided in writing.**

Question

Deregulation Taskforce and Australian Qualifications Framework Council (AQFC) Branch

a. What are the roles and responsibilities of the Deregulation Taskforce and office of the AQFC branch in the Department of Education?

b. How many FTE position are allocated to the Deregulation Taskforce and office of the AQFC branch?

c. Has this changed since 7 September 2013?

d. As at 18 September 2013 when the new Government was sworn in, provide a breakdown of actual headcounts, and provide the number of staff on non-ongoing employment arrangements.

e. Also please provide an up to date organisational structure for this branch. f. What programs is the Deregulation Taskforce and office of the AQFC branch in the Department of Education responsible for?

Answer

- a. The Deregulation Taskforce and Office of the AQFC branch includes the following functions:
 - Primary responsibility for implementation of the recommendations of the *Review of Higher Regulation*, including coordinating related work in a number of areas across the department.
 - Secretariat support to the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Council, including projects as directed by the AQF Council. The Council is established as a committee of the Standing Council on Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment.
 - Corporate support to the Quality and Support Group through the Business Services Unit.
- b. There are currently 16.4 FTE allocated to the Deregulation Taskforce and Office of the AQFC branch.
- c. This Branch did not exist on 7 September 2013. It was established as a consequence of the Administrative Arrangements Order announced on 18 September and comprises of previously-existing functions and personnel.
- d. At 18 September 2013, the headcount was 11, with no staff on non-ongoing employment arrangements.
- e. The Deregulation Taskforce and Office of the AQFC branch currently consists of three sections: the Deregulation Taskforce, the Office of the AQFC, and the Business Services Unit.
- f. There are no programmes for which the Deregulation Taskforce and Office of the AQFC branch is responsible.