Senate Standing Committee on Education Employment and Workplace Relations

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Additional Estimates 2011-2012

Outcome 5 - Workplace Relations & Economic Strategy

DEEWR Question No. EW0905 12

Senator Abetz provided in writing.

Question

National Workplace Relations Consultative Council

1. Since 1 January 2010, for each meeting of the National Workplace Relations Consultative Council: a. Date b. Location c. Attendees d. Apologies e. Who called the meeting f. Outcomes of the meeting

Answer

The National Workplace Relations Consultative Council (NWRCC) met on 13 December 2010 in Melbourne and on 4 April 2011 in Canberra. Attendees and apologies for each meeting are listed in Table 1.

Consistent with past practice, both meetings were convened by the Hon Chris Evans, then Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations.

Section 5(c) of the *National Workplace Relations Consultative Council Act 2002* states that 'subject to the rights of persons participating in meetings of the Council to report to the persons, bodies and organisations by which they are nominated and to the right of the Council to make announcements that those persons agree are in the public interest, the views expressed at those meetings will be kept confidential'. Consistent with these provisions the Outcomes of NWRCC meetings are not released publicly.

Table 1

NWRCC 112		
Attendees	Minister Chris Evans	Australian Government
Attendees	Parliamentary Secretary Jacinta Collins	Australian Government
	Mr Jeff Lawrence	Australian Council of Trade Unions
	Wil dell Lawrence	(ACTU)
	Mr Tim Lyons	ACTU
	Mr Mark Lennon	ACTU
	Mr Peter Anderson	Australian Chamber of Commerce
	Will also Andorson	and Industry (ACCI)
	Mr David Gregory	ACCI
	Mr Steve Knott	Australian Mines & Metals
		Association (AMMA)
	Mr Stephen Smith	Australian Industry Group (AIG)
	Ms Denita Wawn	National Farmers' Federation
		(NFF)
	Mr Richard Calver	Master Builders Australia (MBA)
Observers		
	Mr Michael Borowick	ACTU
	Ms Susan Hopgood	Australian Education Union (AEU)
	Mr Joe de Bruyn	Shop, Distributive & Allied
		Employees Association (SDA)
	Dr Ruth Dunkin	Business Council of Australia
		(BCA)
Guests		
	Ms Ludo McFerran	Australian Domestic & Family
		Violence Clearinghouse (ADFVC)
	Ms Robyn Dale	ADFVC
Apologies	 	110
	Ms Heather Ridout	AIG
	Mr Graham Harris	ACCI
NWD00 440	Ms Ged Kearney	ACTU
NWRCC 113	Minister Obeis France	A controlling Oncome and
Attendees	Minister Chris Evans	Australian Government
	Parliamentary Secretary Jacinta Collins	Australian Government
	Mr Jeff Lawrence	ACTU
	Mr Mark Lennon	ACTU
	Mr Joe de Bruyn Mr Peter Anderson	SDA ACCI
		ACCI
	Mr David Gregory Mr Steve Knott	AMMA
		AIG
	Mr Stephen Smith Ms Denita Wawn	NFF
	Mr Richard Calver	MBA
Observers	IVII INICIIAIU CAIVEI	IVIDA
OD301 VE13	Mr Michael Borowick	ACTU
	Mr Tim Lyons	ACTU
	Professor Breen Creighton	BCA
Apologies	1 Tolossor Breen Greigillon	
, ipologics	Ms Heather Ridout	AIG
	Mr Graham Harris	ACCI
	Ms Susan Hopgood	AEU
	Dr Ruth Dunkin	BCA
	DI Natil Dalikili	DOM