### ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

### **Treasury Portfolio**

Budget Estimates
1 June 2010

Question: BET 204

**Topic:** Tax Allowances in Remote Australia (ATO)

Hansard Page: Written

#### **Senator MACDONALD asked:**

- 1. What is the number of people receiving Zone A Tax allowances in Remote Australia?
- 2. What is the number of people receiving Zone B Tax allowances in Remote Australia?
- 3. What is the number of people receiving other zone Tax allowances in Remote Australia?
- 4. What is the total value of the allowances referred to in 1-3 above?
- 5. What is the definition of Remote Australia for the purposes of Taxation?

#### **Answer:**

**1-3:** Tax offsets for Zone A, Zone B, Special Area and Overseas Forces Tax Offset are claimed at the Zone or Overseas Forces Offset label, T8, on the Tax Return for Individuals.

The information provided by taxpayers at this label does not allow the ATO to determine which tax offset is being claimed, for instance, Zone A, Zone B, Special Area or Overseas Forces.

As at 30 June 2010, for the 2008-09 financial year, 561,084 taxpayers claimed a Zone or Overseas Forces Tax Offset.

- 4. As at 30 June 2010, for the 2008-09 financial year, 561,084 taxpayers claimed a total of \$247.24 million in Zone or Overseas Forces Tax Offset label, T8, on the Tax Return for Individuals. This was down by \$13.77 million from claims in 2007-08 where 591,438 taxpayers claimed the offset at a total of \$261.01 million.
- **5.** Taxpayers in remote areas of Australia may receive a tax offset (Zone A, Zone B or Special Area) in recognition of the climatic conditions and isolation of these remote locations and the high cost of living there.

Zone A is generally areas of Australia north of the Tropic of Capricorn while Zone B is generally remote areas of northern and central mainland Australia (not included in Zone A) and north west Tasmania.

## ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

### **Treasury Portfolio**

Budget Estimates
1 June 2010

A special offset is available to taxpayers residing in particularly isolated areas (called Special Areas) within either Zone A or B or for taxpayers who serve in a qualifying overseas locality as a member of the Australian Defence Force (overseas forces).

Common locations for Zone A, B and Special Areas are listed each year in the TaxPack Supplement (this list is at Attachment A).

Taxpayers can use an online tool on www.ato.gov.au to determine whether a particular location is within a Zone for tax offset purposes.

# ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

## **Treasury Portfolio**

Budget Estimates
1 June 2010

## ATTACHMENT A

### Selected localities within the zones and special areas

Table 14: Zone A	Table 15: Zone B	

Western Australia	Queensland	Western Australia
Bidyadanga (Lagrange)	Airlie Beach	Boulder
Broome*	Atherton	Coolgardie
Carnarvon	Augathella	Esperance
Dampier	Ayr	Kalgoorlie*
Derby	Barcaldine	Kambalda
Goldsworthy	Blackall	Leonora
Karratha	Bowen	Mullewa
Marble Bar	Cairns	Norseman
Newman*	Cardwell	Northampton
Pannawonica	Charleville	Ravensthorpe
Paraburdoo	Charters Towers	Southern Cross
Port Hedland*	Clifton Beach	New South Wales
Roebourne	Collinsville	Bourke
Shay Gap	Coppabella	Brewarrina
Tom Price*	Cunnamulla	Broken Hill
Wittenoom	Greenvale	Cobar
Northern Territory	Home Hill	Collarenebri
Alice Springs*	Ingham	Lightning Ridge
Batchelor	Innisfail	Menindee
Darwin	Longreach	Wilcannia
Hermannsburg	Mackay	Tasmania
Katherine*	Mareeba	Queenstown
Pine Creek	Mossman	Rosebery
Santa Teresa	Port Douglas	South Australia
Tindal	Proserpine	Woomera
Queensland	Quilpie	
Camooweal	Sarina	
Cloncurry	Tambo	
Mount Isa*	Townsville	
	Tully	
	Winton	

<sup>\*</sup> Locations that are within 250 kilometres of these locations are also in the relevant zone.

# ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

## **Treasury Portfolio**

**Budget Estimates** 

1 June 2010

### Table 16: Special areas

Western Australia	Queensland
Balladonia	Boulia
Deakin	Burketown
Denham	Cooktown
Fucla	Doomadgee
Exmouth	Georgetown
Fitzroy Crossing	Helen Vale
Halls Creek	Hughenden
Kununurra	Julia Creek
Laverton	Karumba
Leinster	Kowanyama
Madura	Normanton
Meekatharra	Stamford
Mount Magnet	
Onslow	Thargomindah
	Weipa Windorah
Rawlinna	South Australia
Turkey Creek (Bow River)	
Wiluna	Amata Aboriginal Community
Wyndham	Coober Pedy
Northern Territory	Cook
Alyangula	Innamincka
Angurugu	Leigh Creek
Borroloola	Marree
Elliott	Nullarbor
Galiwinku	Oodnadatta
Jabiru	Penong
Lajamanu (Hooker Creek)	Roxby Downs
Maningrida	Tarcoola
Milikapiti	New South Wales
Milingimbi	White Cliffs
Nguiu	Islands and territories
Ngukurr	Australian Antarctic Territory
Nhulunbuy (Gove)	Cocos (Keeling) Islands
Numbulwar	Heard Island
Oenpelli	Lord Howe Island
Papunyah	Macquarie Island
Ramingining	McDonald Islands
Tennant Creek	Norfolk Island
Yirrkala	Palm Isles Group
Yuendumu	Tasmania
Yulara	Furneaux Group Islands
	King Island