ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet **Outcome/Program:** 1.1 Prime Minister and Cabinet **Topic:** Municipal services funding

Senator: Senator the Hon Jan McLucas

Question reference number: 265

Type of Question: Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 11 July 2014

Number of pages: 4

Question:

1. What States is the Commonwealth Government in negotiations with about municipal and essential services funding? On what date did the Minister begin negotiations and/ or make contact with his State counterparts about municipal services funding? Is this contact documented?

2. How much funding is in the contingency reserve for municipal and essential services?

3. Could the department provide a list of remote communities receiving federal funds for municipal and essential services?

4. Could the department provide a list of the municipal services that are funded in each of the remote communities?

Answer:

- The Commonwealth is negotiating with Western Australia (WA), South Australia (SA), Queensland (QLD), Victoria (VIC) and Tasmania (TAS).
 While negotiations started in 2009, the Minister for Indigenous Affairs, Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion, wrote to his state counterpart in WA (Minister for Local Government, the Hon Tony Simpson MLA) on 26 November 2013 to expedite the reform process. Since then Minister Scullion has made contact with relevant Ministers from other jurisdictions. Initial contact with state counterparts was by phone with some follow-up correspondence.
- 2. Release of the funding in the contingency reserve remains confidential at this time as the Government is still in negotiations with the States.
- 3. See Attachment A.
- 4. The range of services that are funded is broad in order to incorporate the needs of each community or region serviced. Typical services may include:
 - a. the maintenance and provision of water, electricity and sewerage services,

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

- b. waste management (bin collection, hard waste removal and rubbish tip maintenance),
- c. other community support including, administration costs, animal management, parks and gardens, maintenance activities for roads, airstrips and fire prevention; and
- d. provision of powerhouse fuel.

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Attachment A

MUNS communities (by state)

WA	Alligator Hole; Ardyaloon (One Arm Point; Bardi); Balgo (Wirrimanu); Barrell Well;
(164)	Bawoorooga; Bayulu; Beagle Bay; Bedunburrah (Bidan); Bidijul; Bidyadanga (La Grange);
	Billard; Binduurk; Biridu; Blackstone; Bobeiding; Bow River; Brubrunganjal (Kitty Wells);
	Budgarjook (Red Soil); Burrguk (Banana Wells); Burringurrah; Carnot Springs; Chile Creek;
	Cockatoo; Cockatoo Springs; Cosmo Newberry; Crocodile Hole; Darlu Darlu; Djaradjung;
	Djarindjin; Djibbinj; Djugarargyn; Djugerari; Djulburd; Dodnun; Dolly Hole; Eight Mile;
	Embalgun; Four Mile; Frazier Downs; Frog Hollow; Galamunda; Galeru Gorge; Gambarnan;
	Ganinyi; Garimba; Garlburrang; Geeboowama; Gilaroonga; Girriyoowa; Gnylmarung; Goojar
	Goonjool; Goolarabooloo; Goolarrgon; Goombading; Goombaragin; Goose Hill; Guda Guda;
	Gullaweed; Gurrbalgun Urrmarr; Imintji; Innawonga (Bellary Springs); Jabir Jabir; Jamieson
	(Mantamaru); Jarlmadangah Burru; Jigalong; Jimbalakudunji; Jimbilum; Jinparinya; Julgnunn;
	Jundaru; Kadjina; Kalumburu; Kandiwal; Kanpa; Karalundi; Kardaloo (Wandanooka); Karnparri;
	Kiwirrkurra; Koorabye; Kunawarritji; Kupartiya; Kupingarri; Kurlku; Kurrawang; Kutkabubba;
	LaDjardarr (Disaster Bay); Larinyuwar; Lombadina; Looma; Loongabid; Maddarr; Mandangala;
	Marta Marta; Marunbabidi; Mercedes Cove; Milargoon; Mimbi; Mindibungu (Bililliluna);
	Mingalkala; Mingullatharndu (Five Mile); Molly Springs; Moongardi; Morard; Mount Margaret
	(AMOS); Mowanjum; Mowla Bluff; Mud Springs; Mudnunn; Mulan; Mulga Queen (Nurra
	Kurramunoo); Muludja; Munget; Munmural; Munthanmar; Ngalingkadji; Ngallagunda;
	Ngamakoon; Ngumpan; Ngurrawaana; Nillygan; Norman Creek; Norton Bore; Osmond Valley;
	Pandanus Park; Parnngurr (Cotton Creek); Patjarr; Pia Wadjari (Mount Barloweerie; Diandi
	Darlot); Punju Njamal; Punmu; RB Junction; Ringer Soak (Kundat Djaru); Rocky Springs; Rollah;
	Tappers Inlet; Tirralintji; Tjirrkali; Tjuntjuntjara; Tjurkurla; Violet
	Valley; Wakathuni; Wanamulnyundong; Wanarn; Wangkatjunka; Warakurna; Warburton; Warmun
	(Turkey Creek); Warralong; Weymul; Windidda; Wingellina (Irrunytju); Woolah;
	Woolerregeberleng; Wulgarding (Middle Lagoon); Yakanarra; Yandarina; Yandeyarra
	(Mugarinya); Yarri Yarri; Yiramalay; Yirralalem; Yiyili; Youngaleena; Yulga Jinna; Yulumbu;

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates 26 May-6 June 2014

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

SA	Amata; Aeroplane 2; Alpara; Amurina (Umerina); Angatja; Aparawalintja; Balfours Well; Betts
(81)	Corner; Black Hill 3; Bullinda; Cave Hill; Centre Bore; Colebrook; Davenport; David's Well;
	Dinah Line; Echo Hill; Gerard; Granite Downs; Iga Warta; Indulkana (Iwantja); Ininti; Kalka;
	Kalkulpurranha; Kalparrin; Kaltjiti; Kanpi + Nyapari; Katjikuta; Koongawa Dundee; Koonibba;
	Leigh Creek Station; Mimili; Mt Serle; Mulga Bore; Munda Wanna Mar; Munda Watu Tijna;
	Murputja; Murunyi (Happy Valley); Myrtle Springs; New Well; Ngarutjara; Nipapanha; Nypari;
	Oak Valley; Oodnadatta (Dunjiba); Pipalyatjara; Point Pearce; Pukatja; Pututja; Race Course;
	Railway Bore; Raukkan; Rocket Bore; Sandy Bore 2; Sandy's Bore 1; Scotdesco; Shannon's Well
	; Shirley Well; Tia Tuckia; Tilun Tilun; Tjatja; Tjilpil No 3 (Fred's); Tjiwuru Bore; Tjutjunpiri;
	Tupul; Turkey Bore; Ulaypai; Umoona; Umpakanta; Walalkara; Wallatina; Walyinynga;
	Warevila; Warrabillinna; Watarru; Watinuma; Wamikata; Yalata; Yappala; Yarilena; Yunyarinyi
	(Kenmore Park).

Aayka; Ambang; Aurukun; Baas Yard Outstation; Bamaga; Bentinck Island; Bullyard;
Cherbourg; Emu Foot; Geiki/Birthday Mountain; Glen Garland; Hope Vale; Injinoo; Jumbun;
Kencherang; Kilinchen; Kowanyama; Kulpa; Langi Lagoon; Love River; Mapoon; Mukiy; New
Mapoon; Ochangan-Thathank; Pormpuraaw; Port Stewart (Mojeeba, Theethinji); Puntimu;
Seisia; Silver Plain; South Kawiy; Stoney Crossing; Thaangkunh; Tiitch; Umagico; Walngal;
Wathaniin; Woorabinda; Wujal Wujal; Wutan; Yaaneng; Yarrabah

VIC (2)	Framlingham ; Lake Tyers
---------	--------------------------

TAS (1) Cape Barren Island
