Senate Community Affairs Committee ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO 2012-13 Supplementary Estimates Hearings

Outcome Number: 2

Question No: 495

Topic: NAHA Advisory Group

Hansard Page: Written

Senator Payne asked:

Can you please update the committee on whether the Harmer-led NAHA advisory group has met since Minister O'Connor became the minister and whether there have been any changes made to the membership of the committee. Has the group had any consultation, public or with industry, during this calendar year?

Answer:

Minister O'Connor has extended the term of the Advisory Committee on Social Housing and Housing Assistance to December 2012.

Upon extending the term of the Committee, the Minister made a new appointment to the Committee in July — Mr Mick Lilley, Managing director, Infrastructure and Natural Resources Advisory, National Australia Bank. This appointment expands the experience of the Committee's members in relation to institutional investment.

Mr Chris Lamont recently resigned from the Committee in October 2012 due to his other commitments. Current members of the Committee are now Dr Jeff Harmer (chair), Dr Owen Donald, Ms Carol Croce, Mr David Cant, Mr Nigel Satterley, Ms Nazha Saad, Professor Julian Disney, Mr Michael Lennon, Mr Sam Jeffries, Mr Adrian Pisarski, Ms Carrie Hamilton, Mr Daniel Grollo, Dr Ian Winter, Mr Ross Jordan, Dr Tim Williams and Mr Mick Lilley.

The Committee met in Melbourne on 28 August 2012, and again on 11 October in Canberra.

The Committee has undertaken no formal public or industry consultation during this calendar year.