Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND

INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO

2012-13 Supplementary Estimates Hearings

Outcome Number: Cross Ouestion No. 3

Topic: Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS)

Hansard Page: Written

Senator Cash asked:

For each committee or board of the agency (including advisory committees):

- a. Who are the members?
- b. Are they remunerated?
 - i. If so, how much?

Answer:

Membership details for the AIFS Ethics Committee and Risk Assessment and Audit Committee (RAAC) are reported in the 2011-12 Annual Report.

Membership to the AIFS Advisory Council has been revised since the 2011-12 Annual Report. The new membership is listed below.

AIFS Advisory Council Members as at 1 July 2012

Reverend the Honourable Professor Brian Howe AO (Chair)

Centre for Public Policy, School of Social and Political Sciences, The University of Melbourne

• Professor Muriel Bamblett AM

Chief Executive Officer, Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency

• Ms Liza Carroll PSM

Deputy Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (nominee of the Secretary of the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs)

• Professor Richard Chisholm AM

• Professor Ross Homel AO, FASSA

Foundation Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice and Director, Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice and Governance, Griffith University

Professor Barbara Pocock AM

Director, Centre for Work + Life, University of South Australia

• Mr Paul Ronalds

First Assistant Secretary, Office of Work and Family, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

• Emeritus Professor Dorothy Scott OAM

• Professor Paul Smyth

General Manager for Social Action and Research, Brotherhood of St Laurence

Members of the Advisory Council, Ethics Committee and Risk Assessment & Audit (RAAC) Committee who are not members of the Australian Public Service receive a Sitting Fee per meeting as per Remuneration Tribunal Determination 2012/13: *Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Part-Time Public Office* effective 1 July 2012. Under Table 2A, Category 3, remuneration per session for the Chair is \$681.00, and \$606.00 per member.