Senate Community Affairs Committee ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO

2012-13 Budget Estimates Hearings

Outcome Number: 7 Ouestion No. 262

Topic: Voluntary Leases in the NT

Hansard Page: Written

Senator Siewert asked:

How many and which remote communities and town camps have signed up to voluntary leases in the Northern Territory?

How many remote communities in the NT have not signed up to voluntary leases?

Answer:

The Australian Government has secured three whole-of-township leases over six communities (listed at **Table 1**) and has secured, or is in the process of finalising, 12 Housing Precinct Leases in Remote Service Delivery communities (listed at **Table 2**). The Australian Government is also seeking to secure leases over social housing in 51 communities (listed at **Table 3**) and 59 Australian Government assets in 39 communities (listed at **Table 4**).

As at 4 July 2012, 15 Housing Precinct Leases have been agreed to by the respective Land Councils (outlined in **Table 3**). Further, Land Councils have advised that leases over Australian Government assets have been agreed to in six communities in the CLC region and 15 communities in the NLC region (outlined in **Table 4**). The Australian Government will commence finalising leasing arrangements for the approved leases shortly. The leases which have been declined relate to public housing in Daguragu and Haasts Bluff and the government asset at Daguragu. The Australian Government will continue discussions with the Central Land Council in these instances.

Consultations for the remaining communities are progressing.

Senate Community Affairs Committee ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO

2012-13 Budget Estimates Hearings

Table 1. Whole of Township Leases

Anindilyakwa Land Council	Tiwi Land Council
Total of 1 Lease over 3 Communities	Total of 2 Leases over 3 Communities
Communities: 1. Angurugu 2. Milyakburra	Communities: 1. Wurrumiyanga
3. Umbakumba	Communities: 1. Milikapiti 2. Wurankuwu

Table 2. Housing Precinct Leases in Remote Service Delivery Communities

Northern Land Council	Central Land Council	Tiwi Land Council
Total of 9 Communities	Total of 3 Communities	Nil.
Leases executed: 1. Galiwinku 2. Gapuwiyak 3. Gunbalanya 4. Maningrida 5. Milingimbi 6. Ngukurr 7. Numbulwar 8. Wadeye Consults continuing: 1. Yirrkala	Leases executed: 1. Hermannsburg 2. Lajamanu Leases agreed to and awaiting execution: 1. Yuendumu	

Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND

INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO

2012-13 Budget Estimates Hearings

Table 3. Social Housing Leases

Northern Land Council	Central Land Council	Tiwi Land Council
Total of 22 Communities	Total of 28 Communities	Total of 1 Community
Land Council has advised	Conditional agreement	Consults continuing:
leases agreed to and	provided by Land Council:	1. Pirlangimpi
awaiting execution:	1. Areyonga	
1. Amanbidji	2. Kaltukatjara	
2. Barunga	3. Nturiya	
3. Belyuen	4. Pmara Jutunta	
4. Beswick		
5. Bulman	Consults continuing:	
6. Gunyangara	1. Ali Curung	
7. Manyallaluk	2. Alpurrurulam	
8. Minjilang	3. Amoonguna	
9. Palumpa	4. Ampilatwatja	
10. Peppimenarti	5. Atitjere	
11. Pigeon Hole	6. Canteen Creek	
12. Ramingining	7. Daguragu	
13. Warruwi	8. Engawala	
14. Weemol	9. Haasts Bluff	
15. Rittarangu	10. Imangara	
	11. Imanpa	
	12. Kintore	
Consults continuing:	13. Laramba	
Acacia Larrakia	14. Mt Liebig	
2. Binjari	15. Nyrripi	
3. Bulla	16. Papunya	
4. Jilkminggan	17. Santa Teresa	
5. Minyerri	18. Tara	
6. Robinson River	19. Titjikala	
7. Yarralin	20. Wallace Rockhole	
	21. Willowra	
	22. Wilora	
	23. Wutunugurra	
	24. Yuelamu	

Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND

INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS PORTFOLIO

2012-13 Budget Estimates Hearings

Table 4. Australian Government Asset Leases

Northern Land Council	Central Land Council	Tiwi Land Council
Total of 22 Communities	Total of 16 Communities	Total of 1 Community
Land Council has advised leases	Land Council has advised	Consults continuing:
agreed to and awaiting	leases agreed to and awaiting	1. Pirlangimpi (1 asset)
execution:	execution:	
1. Belyuen (1 asset)	:	
2. Beswick (2 assets)	1. Ali Curung (2 assets)	
3. Bulman (1 asset)	2. Areyonga (1 asset)	
4. Galiwinku (1 asset)	3. Kaltukatjara (1 asset)	
5. Gapuwiyak (2 assets)	4. Hermannsburg (3 assets)	
6. Gunbalanya (2 assets)	5. Papunya (1 asset)	
7. Maningrida (2 assets)	6. Yuendumu (3 assets)	
8. Milingimbi (1 asset)		
9. Minjilang (1 asset)	Land Council advised lease not	
10. Ngukurr (2 assets)	agreed to:	
11. Palumpa (1 asset)	1. Daguragu (1 asset)	
12. Peppimenarti (2 assets)		
13. Ramingining (3 assets)	Consults continuing:	
14. Wadeye (3 assets)	1. Ampilatwatja (1 asset)	
15. Warruwi (1 asset)	2. Haasts Bluff (1 asset)	
	3. Kintore (1 asset)	
Consults continuing:	4. Lajamanu (2 assets)	
1. Acacia Larrakia (1 asset)	5. Mt Liebig (2 assets)	
2. Barunga (1 asset)	6. Santa Teresa (1 asset)	
3. Gunyangara (1 asset)	7. Wallace Rockhole (1 asset)	
4. Minyerri (1 asset)	8. Willowra (2 assets)	
5. Numbulwar (1 asset)	9. Yuelamu (1 asset)	
6. Robinson River (2 assets)		
7. Yirrkala (2 assets)		