Senate Community Affairs Committee

ANSWERS TO ESTIMATES QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

HEALTH AND AGEING PORTFOLIO

Budget Estimates 2011-2012, 30/31 May 2011

Question: E11-204

OUTCOME 11: Mental Health

Topic: MEMBERS OF THE TECHNICAL ADVISORY GROUP

Written Question on Notice

Senator Fierravanti-Wells asked:

Please list all the members of this Technical Advisory Group?

Answer:

The Better Access Evaluation Project Steering Committee (PSC) comprised nine individual experts and was chaired by the Department of Health and Ageing. The PSC comprised members with specific experience, expertise and knowledge in relation to program evaluation and the delivery of mental health services.

Members were:

- Professor Gavin Andrews, School of Psychiatry, University of New South Wales (from January 2009 to March 2011)
- Ms Janne McMahon, Consumer, Chair, Private Mental Health Consumer Care Network (Australia) (from January 2009 to March 2011)
- Professor Alan Fels, Carer, Dean, Australian and New Zealand School of Government (from January 2009 to March 2011)
- Emeritus Professor Cliff Walsh, Research Fellow, Department of Economics, University of Adelaide (from January 2009 to March 2011)
- Dr Chris McAuliffe, GP and Mental Health GP Advisor to the Australian General Practice Network (from January 2009 to March 2011)
- Adjunct Professor John Mendoza, Former Chair, National Advisory Council on Mental Health (NACMH) (from January 2009 to June 2010)
- Mr Ron Hunt, CEO Occupational Therapy Australia (from July 2010 to March 2011)
- Ms Kandie Allan Kelly, CEO Australian Association of Social Workers (from July 2010 to March 2011)
- Professor Lyn Littlefield, Executive Director, The Australian Psychological Society Ltd (from July 2010 to March 2011)