© Commonwealth of Australia 2014

ISBN 978-1-76010-013-1

This document was prepared by the Senate Standing Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/.

# Membership of the committee

#### Members

Senator Glenn Sterle, Chair Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan, Deputy Chair Senator Joe Bullock (from 26 June 2014) Senator Alex Gallacher (from 12 November 2013 to 26 June 2014) Senator Sue Lines Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald (from 13 November 2013 to 26 June 2014) Senator John Williams (from 26 June 2014) Senator Peter Whish-Wilson Western Australia, ALP New South Wales, LP Western Australia, ALP South Australia, ALP

Western Australia, ALP Queensland, LP

New South Wales, NATS Tasmania, AG

## Substitute members for this inquiry

Senator Rachel Siewert Western Australia, AG to replace Senator Peter Whish-Wilson Senator Anne Ruston South Australia, LP to replace Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan on 15 April 2014

#### Other Senators participating in this inquiry

Senator Anne Ruston Senator Peter Whish-Wilson Senator Nick Xenophon South Australia, LP Tasmania, AG South Australia, IND

## Secretariat

Mr Tim Watling, Secretary Ms Toni Matulick, Inquiry Secretary (from 12 December 2013 to 16 July 2014) Dr Jane Thomson, Principal Research Officer Dr Jon Bell, Principal Research Officer (from 12 December 2013 to 16 July 2014) Ms Trish Carling, Senior Research Officer Mr Jarrod Jolly, Research Officer (from 28 April 2014) Ms Kirsty Cattanach, Research Officer (until 31 January 2014) Ms Lauren Carnevale, Administrative Officer Ms Kimberley Balaga, Administrative Officer (from 12 December 2013 to 16 July 2014)

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3511 Fax: 02 6277 5811 E-mail: rrat.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: www.aph.gov.au/senate\_rrat