С

Appendix C—List of Witnesses

Canberra, 29 June 1999

Attorney-General's Department Mr Ian Govey Ms Sandra Power

Australian Government Solicitor Mr Robert Orr

Referendum Taskforce Mr John Doherty Mr Jim Faulkner Mr David Lewis

Individuals Mr Harry Evans Mr Ian Holloway Mr Dennis Rose QC Dr John Uhr Professor John Warhurst Mr George Williams Professor Leslie Zines

Sydney, 5 July 1999

Australian Republican Movement (NSW) Mr Gregory Barns Mr Malcolm Turnbull

Australians for a Constitutional Monarchy Professor David Flint Mrs Kerry Lyn Jones

Law Society of New South Wales Mr Michael Legg

Individuals Mr David Jackson QC Mr Adam Johnston Mr Jason Yat-Sen Li The Hon Malcolm McLelland QC Professor George Winterton

Melbourne, 6 July 1999

Australian Council of Trade Unions Ms Jennifer Doran

Australian Republican Movement (VIC) Mr Glyn H France Ms Terry C Macdonald Mr Colin C McDonald Mr Francis J McGuire

University of Melbourne Professor Brian J Galligan

Women's Constitutional Convention Steering Committee Ms Kim Rubenstein Ms Anne Winckel

Individuals The Rt Hon Sir Zelman Cowen The Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser Dr Gavan Griffith QC Dr John Hirst

Adelaide, 7 July 1999

Australian Republican Movement (SA) Dr Tony Cocchiaro Mrs Majorie Schulze

South Australian Government Mr Bradley Selway QC

Individuals Mr Peter Bauer Professor Peter A Howell Ms Linda J Kirk Mr John Short Mr Timothy Stanley Dr Baden Teague

Perth, 8 July 1999

Elect the President Mr Jonathan Harms Professor Martyn Webb

University of Notre Dame Professor Gregory Craven

Individuals Mr Jeremy Buxton

Broome, 9 July 1999

Participants Mr Walter Andersson Mrs Elizabeth Cochrane Ms Jackie Cochrane Mr Murray Cochrane Mrs Victoria Kent Mr Lawrence Kent Ms Margaret Loton Ms Maria Mann Mrs Carol Martin Mr Siguko Miedema Mr Martin Sibosado Mr John Trevor Ms Jane Whitney Brother Shane Wood

Hobart, 12 July 1999

Australians for Constitutional Monarchy The Hon Michael Hodgman QC

Reclaim Your Parliament Movement Mr Eric Lockett

Individuals Dr Ralph Chapman Dr Richard Herr Mr David Mitchell Professor Jan Pakulski Mr Michael Stokes

Darwin, 19 July 1999

Australian Republican Movement (NT) Alderman Ian Fraser

Individuals Mr Colin Friel Mr Norman Skennar

Townsville, 20 July 1999

Individuals Mr Phillip Armati Mr Patrick Coleman Mr Michael Comino Mr Robert McCulloch Senator Jan McLucas Mr Bernie Treston Mr Terry Wiltshire

Brisbane, 21 July 1999

Queenslanders for a Constitutional Monarchy Dr Glenister Sheil

Real Republic Mr David A Muir

Individuals Mr Jim Elliott The Hon Michael Lavarch Mr John R Pyke

Newcastle, 22 July 1999

Australian Monarchist League (NSW) Mr Frederick Hespe

University of Newcastle Dr David Lemmings Ms Beatrice Trefalt

Individuals Mr Norman Barnwell Mr Andrew Buck Ms Sharon Claydon Mr Timothy Crakanthorp Mr Stephen Crowe Ms Shayne Hall Mr Nicholas Hobson Mr David Horkan Ms Jeni Hyde Mr Terrence Mawdsley Mrs Betty Mawdsley Mr Warwick Patton Mr Matthew Raper Ms Michelle Scott Mr William Steenson Mr Adrian Vaughan BE

Canberra, 28 July 1999

Attorney-General's Department Mr Ian Govey Ms Sandra Power

Australian Government Solicitor Mr Robert Orr

Australian Republican Movement (ACT) Ms Anne Witheford

Government of Norfolk Island Mr David Buffett Mr Donald Wright

Issues Deliberation Australia Dr Pamela Ryan

Referendum Taskforce Mr John Doherty Mr Jim Faulkner Mr David Lewis

The Constitutional Centenary Foundation Professor Cheryl Saunders

Individuals Associate Professor Malcolm Mackerras The Hon Richard McGarvie Mr Dennis Rose QC Professor Cheryl Saunders Mr George Williams Professor Leslie Zines