

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES MEDIA ALERT

Issued: Thursday 19 June 2003

Inquiry into the National Capital Authority

## Inquiry into the Role of the National Capital Authority *First public hearing, Friday, 20 June 2003*

Parliament's National Capital Committee is undertaking an inquiry into the role of the National Capital Authority.

The first public hearing of the inquiry will be held in Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra, at 9am this Friday, 20 June 2003.

Among those giving evidence will be the Planning Institute of Australia, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, and the National Trust. Further hearings are scheduled for August.

## PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM: Friday 20 June 2003 Parliament House, Canberra (Committee Room 1R4)

9:00am 9:40am	Planning Institute of Australia (ACT Division) Bruce Wright
10:10am	David Bagnall
10:40am	Housing Industry Association
11:30am	Sir Lenox Hewitt
12:00pm	Canberra Community Action on Acton Inc.
12:50pm	National Trust of Australia (ACT)
1:20pm	Australian Institute of Landscape Architects
2:00pm	Laurence O'Sullivan

The inquiry has so far received 34 submissions. Submissions are available at the inquiry website at: <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/nca/index.htm">www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/nca/index.htm</a>

For media comment, contact Senator Ross Lightfoot, on tel: (02) 6277 3626.

For further information, contact the Inquiry Secretary, Mr Quinton Clements on tel: (02) 6277 2135.

More information about the JSCNCET and its inquiries can be found at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/index.htm

## Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (*Chairman*) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Michael Johnson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, QLD)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)