NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

MEDIA STATEMENT

Wednesday 17 September 2003

Controversy over women's suffrage artwork: National Capital Authority consultation at fault

Recent controversy surrounding the siting of the public artwork to commemorate the centenary of women's suffrage has arisen from shortcomings in the National Capital Authority's consultation processes, according to the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories.

The Committee supported both the artwork and its siting behind Old Parliament House on the basis of the information provided by the National Capital Authority. When the Committee was briefed on the artwork by the Authority in February this year, it was under the impression that all relevant institutions and heritage bodies had been consulted. It now appears that this was not the case.

The Committee is also concerned that the design presented to it in February appears to be markedly different to the artist's impression of the proposed work recently released by the Authority.

While the Committee supports the original design of the artwork and its purpose, it now considers that the siting of the artwork, which appeared to interrupt the Parliamentary Vista, would have been inappropriate.

The National Capital Authority will appear before the Committee at a public hearing this Friday, 19 September (details appear below), as part of the Committee's inquiry into the role of the Authority.

For media comment, contact Committee Chairman, Senator Ross Lightfoot, on tel: (02) 6277 3626

For further information, contact the Inquiry Secretary, Mr Quinton Clements, in the Committee secretariat, on tel: (02) 6277 2135

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM:

Friday 19 September 2003, Parliament House, Canberra (Committee Room 2S3)

9:00am National Capital Authority

11:00am Mr Malcolm Smith
11:30am Mr Tony Powell
12:00pm Mr Brett Odgers
12:30pm ACT Heritage Council

1:00pm Adjournment

Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (Chairman) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Michael Johnson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, QLD)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)

Telephone: 02 6277 4355 Facsimile: 02 6277 2067 E-mail: jscncet@aph.gov.au PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600