

## JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

MEDIA ALERT

Issued: Tuesday 16 September 2003

Inquiry into the National Capital Authority

# Inquiry into the role of the National Capital Authority Public hearings, Wednesday 17 September and Friday 19 September - National Capital Authority to appear -

Parliament's National Capital Committee is undertaking an inquiry into the role of the National Capital Authority.

The third public hearing of the inquiry will be held in Parliament House, Canberra, from 6pm this Wednesday, 17 September 2003. A fourth hearing is scheduled from 9am this Friday, 19 September.

The programs for each of these hearings appear below. The National Capital Authority will appear on Friday.

#### **PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM:**

Wednesday 17 September 2003, Parliament House, Canberra (Committee Room 2S1)

6:00pm Canberra Business Council

6:30pm Canberra Property Owners Association Ltd 7:00pm ACT Sustainable Rural Lands Group Inc.

7:30pm Magnet Mart Pty Ltd.

8:00pm Adjournment

#### **PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM:**

Friday 19 September 2003, Parliament House, Canberra (Committee Room 2S3)

9:00am National Capital Authority

11:00am Mr Malcolm Smith
11:30am Mr Tony Powell
12:00pm Mr Brett Odgers
12:30pm ACT Heritage Council

1:00pm Adjournment

The inquiry has so far received 44 submissions. Submissions are available at the inquiry website at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/nca/index.htm

For media comment, contact Senator Ross Lightfoot, on tel: (02) 6277 3626

For further information, contact Justin Baker in the Committee secretariat, on tel: (02) 6277 4318

### Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (Chairman) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (*Deputy Chair*) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Michael Johnson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, QLD)
   Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)

Telephone: 02 6277 4355 PARLIAMENT HOUSE Facsimile: 02 6277 2067 CANBERRA ACT 2600

E-mail: jscncet@aph.gov.au