

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

Inquiry into the National Capital Authority

Issued: Wednesday 13 August

Inquiry into the Role of the National Capital Authority *First public hearing, Friday, 15 August 2003*

Parliament's National Capital Committee is undertaking an inquiry into the role of the National Capital Authority.

The second public hearing of the inquiry will be held in Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra, at 9am this Friday, 15 August 2003.

Among those giving evidence will be the ACT Government, Save the Ridge and the Institution of Engineers, Australia. A further hearing is scheduled for 19 September.

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM: Friday 15 August 2003 Parliament House, Canberra (Committee Room 2S1)

9:00am	ACT Government
11:00am	Save the Ridge Inc.
11:40am	North Canberra Community Council
12:20pm	Lunch
12:50pm	The Institution of Engineers, Australia
1:30pm	Australia International Council on Monuments and Sites (Australia ICOMOS)
2:10pm	Ms Kerrie Tucker MLA
2:40pm	Mr Brian Binning
3:10pm	Adjournment

The inquiry has so far received 42 submissions. Submissions are available at the inquiry website at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/nca/index.htm

For media comment, contact Senator Ross Lightfoot, on tel: (02) 6277 3626.

For further information, contact the Inquiry Secretary, Mr Quinton Clements on tel: (02) 6277 2135.

More information about the JSCNCET and its inquiries can be found at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/index.htm

Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (*Chairman*) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Michael Johnson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, QLD)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)