

Appendix B: List of public hearings

Thursday, 12 November 2009 - Sydney

Individuals

Professor Mary Crock

Ms Kione Johnson

Ms Adama Kamara

Professor Ronald Clive McCallum AO

Australian Federation of AIDS Organisations Inc

Ms Linda Athalia Forbes, Policy Analyst

Australian Human Rights Commission

Mr Graeme Innes, Human Rights Commissioner and Disability Discrimination Commissioner

Mr David Mason, Manager, Strategic Policy Team

Cabramatta Community Centre

Ms Ricci Ulrike Tobetha Bartels, Executive Officer

Mrs Yamamah Khodr-Agha, Manager Complex Cases, Fairfield Migrant Resource Centre

Down Syndrome NSW

Mrs Jill O'Connor

HIV/AIDS Legal Centre Inc

Mr Iain Stewart Brady, Solicitor

Lachlan Riches, President, HALC Management Committee

192 ENABLING AUSTRALIA

Migration Institute of Australia

Ms Maureen Horder, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Rachel Magill, Professional Support

Multicultural Disability Advocacy Association of NSW

Ms Susan Laguna

National Ethnic Disability Alliance

Mr Dinesh Wadiwel, Executive Officer

The Migration Institute of Australia

Mr Brian Kelleher, Professional Development Manager

Wednesday, 18 November 2009 - Canberra

Australian Rights for Human Lawyers

Dr Susan Harris Rimmer, President

Wednesday, 25 November 2009 - Canberra

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Helen Bedford, Branch Manager

Ms Frances Davies, Group Manager

Mr Philip Moufarrige

Thursday, 28 January 2010 - Brisbane

Individuals

Mrs Cynthia Muir

Mr James Muir

Amparo Advocacy Inc

Ms Maureen Teresa Fordcye, Coordinator

Cerebral Palsy League

Dr Gabrielle Rose, Senior Policy Advisor

Mrs Josie Russell, Board Executive Officer

Deaf Australia Inc.

Ms Karen Margaret Lloyd, Executive Officer

Ethnic Communities Council of Queensland

Mr Andrew Bartlett, Advocacy and Policy Advisor

Ms Lalita Lakshmi, Advocacy Program Coordinator

Multicultural Development Association

Ms Kerrin Benson, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Karen Lee, Executive Manager, Government and Community Advocacy Team

Mr Aiah Thomas, Coordinator, Christmas Island

QLD Nurses Union

Ms Beth Mohle, Assistant Secretary

Queensland Advocacy Incorporated

Mr Kevin Cocks, Executive Director

Mr Robert Duncan McRae, President

Queensland Centre for Intellectual and Developmental Disability, University of Queensland

Ms Miriam Taylor

Queensland Nurses' Union

Dr Liz Todhunter, Research and Policy Officer

Queensland Parents for People with a Disability Inc.

Mr Phil Tomkinson, Member

Refugee and Immigration Legal Service

Ms Marg Le Sueur, Principal Solicitor

194 ENABLING AUSTRALIA

Thursday, 18 February 2010 - Melbourne

Individuals

Dr Brian Donovan

Ms Sharon Ford

Ms Maria Gillman

Mr Ashley Greeves

Action on Disability within Ethnic Communities (ADEC)

Ms Licia Kokocinski, Executive Director

Australian Federation of Disability Organisations

Ms Lesley Hall, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Frank Hall-Bentick, Board Executive Member

Blind Citizens Australia

Ms Robyn Gaile, Executive Officer

Clothier Anderson and Associates

Ms Stephanie Jane Booker, Lawyer

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Dr Rhonda Galbally, Chairperson, National People with Disabilities Carer Council

Down Syndrome Victoria

Ms Kirsten Deane, President

Ms Catherine McAlpine, Executive Officer

Down Syndrome WA

Dr Janice Gothard, Migration Spokesperson

Haemophilia Foundation Australia

Ms Sharon Caris, Executive Director

Law Institute of Victoria

Ms Joanne Knight, Chairperson, Administrative Law and Human Rights Section

Mr Peter Papadopoulos, Member, Migration Law Committee

Transcultural Mental Health Access Programme

Mrs Shehani De Silva, Coordinator

Vicdeaf

Mr Graeme Kelly, Chief Executive Officer

Vision Australia

Mr Brandon Ah Tong-Pereira, Policy Officer

Ms Renee Williamson, National Advocacy Manager

Wednesday, 24 February 2010 - Canberra

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Dr Paul Douglas, Chief Medical Officer

Mr Matt Kennedy, Assistant Secretary, Family and Health Policy

Mr Peter Vardos, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Visa Policy

Wednesday, 10 March 2010 - Canberra

Refugee Council of Australia

Mr Paul Power, Chief Executive Officer

Wednesday, 17 March 2010 - Canberra

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Dr Paul Douglas, Chief Medical Officer

Mr Nicolas Torkington, Acting Assistant Secretary, Family and Health Policy