MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 12 February 2007

Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Kim Wilkie MP

## Lombok Treaty submissions available

Submissions for the Treaties Committee's inquiry into the Australia Indonesia Security Treaty, also known as the Lombok Treaty, are now available on the Committee's website:

www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/6december2006/subs.htm

So far the Committee has received submissions from a range of individuals and organisations, including the Australia West Papua Association, Civil Liberties Australia, Dr Malcolm Cook from the Lowy Institute and Associate Professor Damien Kingsbury, from the school of international and political studies at Deakin University and author of *The Politics of Indonesia*.

Submissions can be made until 23 February 2007 and new submissions will be added to the Committee's website as they are authorised.

"The Treaties Committee welcomes submissions from individuals and organisations with an interest in Indonesia," Andrew Southcott, Chair of the Treaties Committee said.

The Committee will begin public hearings on 26 February and is due to report to Parliament by 12 June 2007. More information on the Committee's inquiry, including the treaty text and national interest analysis, is available on the Committee's website:

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/6december2006/index.htm

Or by contacting the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4002.

**MEDIA CONTACTS** 

Media contacts: David Colmer (Dr Southcott's Office) (02) 6277 4283 or 0412 550 946

Michael Watts (Mr Wilkie's Office) (02) 6277 2255 or 0419 993 677

Background: James Rees (Committee Secretary) (02) 6277 4642

Telephone: 02 6277 4002 Facsimile: 02 6277 2219 E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600