

Appendix C - Hearings and witnesses

Wednesday 16 January 2013 - Sydney

Public hearing

Individuals

Prof Anne Twomey

Prof George Williams

Prof Alexander Jonathan Brown

Attorney-General's Department

Mr James Faulkner, General Counsel (Constitutional), Office of Constitutional Law

Mr Jeff Murphy, Principal Legal Officer, Office of Constitutional Law

Australian Electoral Commission

Ms Marie Neilson, Assistant Commissioner Elections

Ms Gabrielle Paten, Director Electoral Policy and Reform

Mr Tom Rogers, Deputy Commissioner

Australian Local Government Association

Mr Adrian Beresford-Wylie, Chief Executive

Mayor Troy Pickard, Vice President

Mr John Pritchard, Executive Director, Policy and Research

Cr Keith Rhoades, Vice President

Department of Premier and Cabinet, South Australian Government

Mr Mick Petrovski, Director, Office for State/Local Government Relations

Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport

Mrs Robyn Fleming, First Assistant Secretary, Local Government, Territories and Regional Programs Dr Matasha McConchie, Assistant Secretary, Local Government and Territories

Law Council of Australia

Ms Maureen Peatman, Chair of Legal Practice Section

Local Government Association of Queensland

Cr Margaret De Wit, President

Mr Craig Johnstone, Media Executive

Local Government Association of South Australia

Mr Chris Russell, Acting Chief Executive Officer,

The Hon John Trainer, Vice-President

Victorian Local Governance Association

Mr Toby Archer, Director, Policy

Ms Maree McPherson, Chief Executive Officer

Wednesday 20 February 2013 – Sydney

Public hearing

Individuals

Mr Ronald Williams

Attorney-General's Department

Mr James Faulkner, SC, General Counsel (Constitutional), Office of Constitutional Law

Australian Electoral Commission

Ms Marie Neilson, Assistant Commissioner Elections

Ms Gabrielle Paten, Acting State Manager, New South Wales

Mr Tom Rogers, Deputy Commissioner

Australian Local Government Association

Mr Adrian Beresford-Wylie, Chief Executive

Mayor Felicity-ann Lewis, President

Mayor Troy Pickard, Vice-President

Cr Keith Rhoades, Vice-President

Australian Services Union

Mr Greg, McLean OAM, Assistant National Secretary

Central Highlands Regional Council

Cr Paul Bell, Councillor

City of Darebin

Mr Rasiah Dev, Chief Executive Officer

Cr Tim Laurence, Mayor

City of Wagga Wagga

Mr Andrew Crakanthorp, Director Planning

Mr Craig Richardson, Director Corporate Services

Cootamundra Shire Council

Cr Douglas Phillips, Mayor

Mr Ken Trethewey, General Manager

Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport

Mrs Robyn Fleming, First Assistant Secretary, Local Government, Territories and Regional Programs

Dr Matasha McConchie, Assistant Secretary, Local Government and Territories

Kingborough Council

Dr Graham Bury, Mayor

Longreach Regional Council

Cr Joe Owens, Mayor

Mr Mark Watt, Chief Executive Officer

Mid Murray Council

Cr David Burgess, Mayor

Moreton Bay Regional Council

Mr Daryl Hitzman, Chief Executive Officer

Mount Isa City Council

Hon Tony McGrady, Mayor

Naracoorte Lucindale Council

Cr Erika Vickery, Mayor

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council

Cr Peter Besseling, Mayor

United Services Union

Mr Paul Reid, Training Officer