

**Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety** 

Issued: 7 July <u>2011</u>

Chair: Senator Catryna Bilyk Deputy Chair: Alex Hawke MP

## Inquiry into Cybercrime Legislation Amendment Bill 2011

The Parliament's Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety has been asked to review the Cybercrime Legislation Amendment Bill 2011.

Chair of the Committee, Senator Catryna Bilyk, welcomed the opportunity to examine this bill which will facilitate Australia's accession to the Council of Europe's Convention on Cybercrime.

Senator Bilyk said the treaty is designed specifically to respond to the growth and diversification of cybercrime. The purpose of the Convention is to make it easier for its Member States (and their police forces) to investigate and prosecute cybercrime cooperatively across national boundaries.

Cybercrime includes criminal activity involving the use of computers or computer networks, such as in unlawfully accessing computer data or interfering with computer systems or where computer use is integral to an offence, such as for the distribution of child pornography via the Internet.

While Australian law (Commonwealth, state and territory) is already mostly compliant with the treaty, the Cybercrime Legislation Amendment Bill amends Commonwealth legislation to ensure that Australia is fully compliant with the Treaty provisions before Australia accedes to the Treaty.

Senator Bilyk said that the Committee is interested in hearing the full range of views on the measures to be implemented in the proposed legislation to ensure that all necessary matters have been fully considered before acceding to this Convention. The Committee is seeking submissions by 15 July with a view to tabling a report on 5 August 2011.

Further information on the inquiry, including the terms of reference and tips on preparing a submission is available from the Committee's web site <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/jscc">http://www.aph.gov.au/jscc</a> or from the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4202.

## **MEDIA CONTACTS:**

Media comment: contact the Committee Chair Senator Catryna Bilyk on (02) 6277 3349 or mobile 0419 694 512

Background: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4202

Telephone: 02 6277 4202 Facsimile: 02 6277 2219 Email: jscc@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/jscc