

Appendix A – Resolution of Appointment

- (1) (a) That a Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade be appointed to consider and report on such matters relating to foreign affairs, defence and trade as may be referred to it by:
 - (i) either House of the Parliament;
 - (ii) the Minister for Foreign Affairs;
 - (iii) the Minister for Defence; or
 - (iv) the Minister for Trade.
 - (b) Annual reports of governments departments and authorities tabled in the House shall stand referred to the committee for any inquiry the committee may wish to make. Reports shall stand referred to the committee in accordance with a schedule tabled by the Speaker to record the areas of responsibility of each committee, provided that:
 - (i) any question concerning responsibility for a report or a part of a report shall be determined by the Speaker; and
 - (ii) the period during which an inquiry concerning an annual report may be commenced by a committee shall end on the date on which the next annual report of that Department or authority is presented to the House.

- (2) That the committee consist of 32 members, 12 Members of the House of Representatives to be nominated by the Government Whip or Whips, 8 Members of the House of Representatives to be nominated by the Opposition Whip or Whips or by any independent Member, 5 Senators to be nominated by the Leader of the Government in the Senate, 5 Senators to be nominated by the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate and 2 Senators to be nominated by any minority group or groups or independent Senator or independent Senators.
- (3) That every nomination of a member of the committee be forthwith notified in writing to the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (4) That the members of the committee hold office as a joint committee until the House of Representatives is dissolved or expires by effluxion of time.
- (5) That the committee elect a Government member as its chair.
- (6) That the committee elect a deputy chair who shall act as chair of the committee at any time when the chair is not present at a meeting of the committee and at any time when the chair and deputy chair are not present at a meeting of the committee the members present shall elect another member to act as chair at that meeting.
- (7) That in the event of an equality of voting, the chair, or the deputy chair when acting as chair, shall have a casting vote.
- (8) That 6 members of the committee constitute a quorum of the committee, provided that in a deliberative meeting the quorum shall include 1 member of either House of the Government parties and 1 member of either House of the non-Government parties.
- (9) That the committee have power to appoint subcommittees consisting of 3 or more of its members and to refer to any subcommittee any matter which the committee is empowered to examine.
- (10) That, in addition to the members appointed pursuant to paragraph (9), the chair and deputy chair of the committee be *ex officio* members of each subcommittee appointed.
- (11) That the committee appoint the chair of each subcommittee who shall have a casting vote only, and at any time when the chair of a subcommittee is not present at a meeting of the subcommittee the members of the subcommittee present shall elect another member of that subcommittee to act as chair at that meeting.

- (12) That the quorum of a subcommittee be 2 members of that subcommittee, provided that in a deliberative meeting the quorum shall comprise 1 member of either House of the Government parties and 1 member of either House of the non-Government parties.
- (13) That members of the committee who are not members of a subcommittee may participate in the proceedings of that subcommittee but shall not vote, move any motion or be counted for the purpose of a quorum.
- (14) That the committee or any subcommittee have power to send for persons, papers and records.
- (15) That the committee or any subcommittee have power to move from place to place.
- (16) That a subcommittee have power to adjourn from time to time and to sit during any adjournment of the Senate and the House of Representatives.
- (17) That the committee have leave to report from time to time.
- (18) That the committee or any subcommittee have power to consider and make use of the evidence and records of the Joint Committees on Foreign Affairs and Defence and Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade appointed during previous Parliaments.
- (19) That the foregoing provisions of this resolution, so far as they are inconsistent with the standing orders, have effect notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders.¹

Journals of the Senate, No. 3, 14 February 2002 and Votes and Proceedings, No. 3, 14 February 2002



Appendix B – Witnesses at Public Hearings

Monday 3 February 2003, Canberra - Foreign Affairs Subcommittee

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Susan Cox, Manager, Consular Coordination Unit, Consular Branch

Mr Paul, Grigson, Assistant Secretary, Maritime South-East Asia Branch

Mr William Robert Jackson, Director, Consular Operations

Ms Kathy Klugman, Director, East Timor Section, Maritime South-East Asia Branch

Mr Robert Nash, Assistant Secretary, Passports Branch

Ms Jennifer Rawson, First Assistant Secretary, South And South-East Asia Division

Mr Bill Richardson, Director, Australia Indonesia Institute

Mr Peter Rowe, Assistant Secretary, North-East Asia Branch, North Asia Division

Mr Rod Smith, Assistant Secretary, Consular Branch

Ms Sue Tanner, Assistant Secretary, Market Development and Business Liaison Branch, Trade Development Division

Mr Peter J Varghese, Deputy Secretary

Australian Agency for International Development

Mr Robin Davies, Assistant Director General, East Asia Branch

Mr Murray Proctor, Assistant Director General, Office of Review and Evaluation

Mr Percy Stanley, Director, Virtual Colombo Plan

Monday 2 December 2002, Canberra - Trade Sub-Committee

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Ruth Adler, Assistant Secretary, Trade and Economic Analysis Branch

Mr Frank Bingham, Acting Director, Market Information and Analysis Unit

Ms Anastasia Carayanides, Assistant Secretary, Trade Policy Issues and Industrials Branch

Mr Stephen Deady, Special Negotiator for Free Trade Agreements and Processed Food

Mr Bruce Gosper, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Trade Negotiations

Mr Ralph Hillman, First Assistant Secretary, Trade Development Division

Mr David Holly, Director, International Economic and Finance Section

Ms Frances Lisson, Director, Trade Policy Section

Mr Hamish Mccormick, Assistant Secretary, APEC and Regional Trade Policy Branch

Ms Sue Tanner, Assistant Secretary, Market Development and Business Liaison Branch

Mr Andrew Todd, Director, Trade Advocacy and Outreach Section

Mr Tim Toomey, Acting Director, Trade Liaison Section

Ms Elizabeth Ward, Director, E-APEC, Business, Economic and Ecotech Issues Section

Austrade

Mr Greg David Joffe, Corporate Adviser, Strategic Development

Ms Margaret Lyons, Executive General Manager, Corporate

Ms Denise Pendleton, Client Service Manager

Thursday 20 March 2003, Canberra – Human Rights Sub-Committee

AusAID

Mr Robin Davies, Assistant Director General, East Asia Branch

Ms Alison Gillies Vale, Assistant Director General, Executive Services Group

Dr Robert Glasser, Assistant Director General, Papua New Guinea Branch

Mr Alan March, Assistant Director General, Humanitarian, Multilateral and Community Branch

Mr Murray Proctor, Assistant Director General, Office of Review and Evaluation

Ms Margaret Thomas, Assistant Director General, Pacific Branch

Mr Peter Versegi, Acting Assistant Director General, Corporate Policy Branch