# **Submission No 16**

Australia's trade and investment relations under the Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement

Organisation:	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Contact Person:	Ms Gillian Kenny
Address:	New Zealand Section Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade RG Casey Building John McEwen Cr Barton ACT 0221

### Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade (JSCFADT) Inquiry into Australia and New Zealand Closer Economic Relations (CER)

#### 12 May 2006

#### **Questions on Notice**

# 1. What is the list of occupations covered by the Trans Tasman Mutual Recognition Agreement (TTMRA)?

There is no list of specific occupations covered under the Trans Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement (the Arrangement). The Arrangement covers all occupations for which some form of legislation-based registration, certification, licensing, approval, admission or any other form of authorisation is required by individuals in order to legally practice an occupation. The only exception applies to medical practitioners; however in the case of doctors trained in Australia and New Zealand, mutual recognition-type arrangements apply.

Under the Arrangement, registration can be subject to conditions to achieve equivalency of occupations. If a registration authority considered that the qualifications, skills and competencies of a person registered in a jurisdiction were deficient in an area, the Arrangement makes provision for a registration authority to impose conditions on registration, or to postpone or decline registration. Provisions enabling a registration authority to refuse registration require reasonable grounds to form the view that the risk posed to public health and safety could not be addressed by conditional registration. In that case, the occupation would not be considered "equivalent". Additionally, a registration authority may refuse the grant of registration if false or misleading information is submitted through the application process.

Occupational equivalency is also subject to any formal declarations made by a Minister from New Zealand and a Minister from each of one or more Australian jurisdictions, or by the Commonwealth Administrative Appeals Tribunal in the context of a review. Such a declaration, by notice in the *Commonwealth of Australia Gazette*, can declare that specified occupations are equivalent, and may specify or describe conditions that will achieve equivalence.

Professional bodies and registration authorities are encouraged to collaboratively work on harmonising standards and minimising differences in registration requirements between jurisdictions, which is the key intent of the Act.

## 2. What is the list of attendees to the Australia New Zealand Leadership Forum (ANZLF)?

Attendance varies from year to year. A list of participants in the 2006 Leadership Forum, held in Auckland on 5-6 May, is attached.

### ANZLF 2006 – AUSTRALIAN PARTICIPANTS

Mr James Strong	Chairman, Insurance Australia Group and Woolworths Ltd
Major-General Peter Abigail (rtd)	Director, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
Mr Geoff Askew	Head of Group Security, Qantas
Mr David Baffsky, AO	Chairman, Accor Asia Pacific
Mr Ian Buchanan	Chairman, Booz Allen Hamilton
Ms Sharon Burrow	President, ACTU
Mr Phil Clark	Advisory Council, JP Morgan
Mr Bob Correll	Deputy Secretary, DIMA
General Peter Cosgrove, AC MC	Independent Non-Executive Director, Qantas
Mr Bob Cotton	Visiting Fellow, ANU
Mr Tony D'Aloisio	Managing Director and CEO, Australian Stock Exchange
HE Mr John Dauth, LVO	Australian High Commissioner to New Zealand
Dr Mark Dimech	National Manager Aviation and Research, Tourism and Transport Forum
Hon Alexander Downer	Minister for Foreign Affairs
Dr Bob Edgar	Chief Operating Officer, ANZ Banking Group Limited
Mr Allan Freeth	CEO, TelstraClear Ltd
Ms Pru Goward	Sex Discrimination Commissioner, HREOC
Dr Allan Hawke	Chancellor, ANU
Mr Michael Hawker	CEO, Insurance Australia Group
Professor Andrea Hull, AO	Director, Victorian College of the Arts
Mr Doug Jukes	National Chairman, KPMG
Mr Michael L'Estrange	Secretary, DFAT
Mr Jeffrey Lucy	Chairman, ASIC
Professor Peter McDonald	Head, Demography & Sociology Program, ANU
Mr Rod McGeoch, AM	Chairman of Partners, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Mr Bruce Morgan	Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Mr Jim Murphy	Executive Director, Markets Group, Treasury
Mr Laurie Oakes	Political Commentator
Mr Peter O'Byrne	Managing Director, Austrade
Mr Mark Paterson	Secretary, DITR
Mr David A. Ritchie	First Assistant Secretary, DFAT
Mr Geoff Ricketts	Chairman, Lion Nathan
Ms Ann Sherry, AO	CEO, Westpac Bank New Zealand
Mr Jim Short	Executive Director, Australia China Business Council
Mr David Thodey	Group Managing Director, Telstra
Mr Grant Thorne	Managing Director, Rio Tinto Coal Australia
Mr John Weiss	Chief Executive, Trans-Tasman Business Circle

#### ANZLF 2006 - NEW ZEALAND PARTICIPANTS

Mr Kerry McDonald	Chairman, Bank of New Zealand
Mr Rob Ayson	Director of Graduate Studies, ANU
Mr Michael Barnett	Chief Executive, Auckland Chamber of Commerce
Dr Seddon Bennington	Chief Executive, Te Papa
Dr Alan Bollard	Governor, Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Mr Gerry Brownlee	Deputy Leader, National Party
Dr James Buwalda	Chief Executive, Department of Labour
Mr Nick Calavrias	CEO, Steel & Tube Holdings
Mr Tom Campbell	Managing Director, Smelting, Comalco New Zealand
Mr Gavin Cormack	Chairman, Beca Group
Hon Lianne Dalziel	Minister of Commerce
Mr Geoff Dangerfield	CEO, Ministry of Economic Development
Ms Jane Diplock, AO	Chairman, Securities Commission
Mr Martyn Dunne	Comptroller, NZ Customs
Hon Peter Dunne	Leader, United Future New Zealand
Mr Brian Fallow	Economics Editor, NZ Herald
Mr Graham Fortune	Secretary of Defence
Hon Phil Goff	Minister of Trade
Professor Peter Hempenstall	Professor of History, University of Canterbury
Mr Don Huse	Chief Executive, Auckland International Airport
Mr Colin James	Managing Director, Hugo Group
Mr John Key	Finance Spokesperson, National Party
Professor Judith Kinnear	Vice-Chancellor, Massey University
HE Kate Lackey	NZ High Commissioner to Australia
Mr John Larkindale	Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade
Mr Andrew Little	National Secretary, Engineering, Printing & Manufacturing Union
Mr John Maasland	Chairman, Carter Holt Harvey
Hon Jim McLay	Chairman, Macquarie NZ Ltd
Ms Jenny Morel	Director, No8 Ventures Management
Mr Simon Murdoch	Secretary of Foreign Affairs & Trade
Mr John Palmer	Chairman, Air New Zealand
Ms Joanna Perry	Partner, KPMG
Rt Hon Winston Peters	Minister of Foreign Affairs
Mr Dennis Pickup	Formerly CEO, Tourism Holdings
Ms Paula Rebstock	Chairman, Commerce Commission
Ms Patsy Reddy	Director, Telecom New Zealand
Mr John Shewan	Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Mr Henry van der Heyden	Chairman, Fonterra
Mr Ralph Waters	CEO, Fletcher Building

Mr John Whitehead	Secretary to the Treasury
Mr Ross Wilson	President, NZ Council of Trade Unions