



Chair: Sharon Grierson MP Deputy Chair: Petro Georgiou MP

Canberra Hearings on the Efficiency Dividend

The Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit will hold public hearings in Canberra on 17 and 19 September as part of its inquiry into the effect of the efficiency dividend on small agencies.

Committee Chair Sharon Grierson MP said, "The Committee has already heard from a number of cultural institutions about the impact the efficiency dividend has had on their capacity to grow and develop their collections. On Wednesday this week we will hear from the Australian Federation of Friends of Museums about the 'trickle-down' effect the dividend is having on its member groups."

Agencies scheduled to appear on Friday 19 September include the Australian Public Service Commission, the National Capital Authority and the Department of Finance and Deregulation.

"Inviting representatives from the Department of Finance and Deregulation to appear at a public hearing will provide an opportunity for the Committee to hear about the history of the efficiency dividend and the rationale for its approach," Ms Grierson said.

The Committee will also hold a roundtable with agencies from the portfolio of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research.

Wednesday, 17 September Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House, Canberra

Australian Federation of Friends of Museums 12:30 pm

Friday, 19 September Committee Room 1S2, Parliament House, Canberra

•	9:15 am	Department of Finance and Deregulation
•	10:15 am	Joint Standing Committee on the Parliamentary Library
•	11:00 am	National President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia
•	11:45 am	Australian Public Service Commission
•	1:15 pm	Office of the Official Secretary to the Governor-General
•	2:00 pm	National Capital Authority
•	3:00 pm	Roundtable with CSIRO, Questacon, the Australian Research Council and the National Measurement Institute

The hearings will be webcast live on: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/. For more information: please contact the Committee chair, Sharon Grierson MP, on 0412 291 654 or the inquiry secretary on (02) 6277 2336 or visit the website at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jpaa/efficdiv/index.htm.

Telephone: 02 6277 4574 Parliament House Facsimile: 02 6277 2220 E-mail: jcpa@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jpaa

PO Box 6021 CANBERRA ACT 2600