

Appendix C - Witnesses Appearing at Public Hearings

Monday, 9 June 2004 - Canberra

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Services

Mr John Boersig, Manager, Law and Justice Branch

Ms Kerrie Tim, Group Manager, Social and Physical Wellbeing

Mr Bernard Yates, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Sue Pidgeon, First Assistant Secretary, Family Pathways Branch

Ms Philippa Lynch, First Assistant Secretary

Australian National Audit Office

Mr Pat Farrelly, Contractor

Mr Steven Lack, Acting Group Director

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Peter Vaughan, Executive Coordinator, Office of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

Ms Rosalind Webb, Principal Legal Officer, Legal and International Office of ATSIA

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Darren Dick, Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Unit

Mr Christopher Holland, Policy Officer, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Unit

Mr Craig Lenehan, Acting Director, Legal Services

South Eastern Aboriginal Legal Services

Mr Gerry Moore, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Gary Pudney, Principal Solicitor

Tuesday 13 July 2004 - Sydney

Combined Community Legal Centres NSW

Ms Polly Porteous, Director

Hawkesbury Nepean Community Legal Centre

Ms Tracy Leahy, Coordinator

Ms Shirley Palmer

Legal Aid Commission

Ms Louise Blazejowska, Executive Officer

Mr Bill Grant, Chief Executive Officer

Many Rivers Aboriginal Legal Service

Mr John McKenzie

National Association of Community Legal Centres

Mr Robin Inglis, Victorian State Representative

Ms Liz O'Brien, National Convenor

National Network of Indigenous Women's Legal Services

Miss Winsome Matthews

Miss Leanne Miller, Committee Member

Sydney Regional Aboriginal Corporation Legal Service

Mr Peter Bugden, Principal Solicitor

Mr Trevor Christian, Manager

Mr Ralph Scott, Finance Manager

Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre

Ms Trish Frail-Gibbs, Coordinator

Womens Legal Services - NSW

Ms Catherine Carney, Principal Solicitor

Ms Annette Hennessy, Aboriginal Programs Officer

Aunty Gloria Matthews, Aboriginal Elder

Wednesday 21 July 2004 – Darwin

Aboriginal Justice Advocacy Committee

Mr Christopher Howse, Executive Officer

ATSIC Yilli Rreung Regional Council

Mr Kimberley Hunter, Chairperson

Law Society Northern Territory

Ms Barbara Bradshaw, Chief Executive Officer

Northern Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service

Ms Sharon Payne, Director

Mr Alistair Morris, Administration Manager

Northern Territory Legal Aid Commission

Ms Jenny Hardy, Deputy Director

Top End Women's Legal Service

Ms Sabina Crawley, Solicitor

Ms Angela Dowling, Coordinator

Ms Joanna Martin, Principal Solicitor

Thursday 22 July - Alice Springs

Central Australian Aboriginal Family Legal Unit

Ms Phynea Clarke, Senior Client Service Officer

Mrs Lillian Davis, Client Service Officer

Ms Victoria Shiel, Solicitor

Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service Inc

Mr David Bamber, Principal Legal Officer

Mrs Patricia Miller, Director

Central Australian Women's Legal Service Inc

Ms Vanessa Lethlean, Solicitor/Coordinator

Ms Janet Taylor

Ngaanyatjarra Pitjanjatjara Yankunytjatjarra Women's Council

Ms Vicki Gillick, Coordinator

Mrs Margaret Smith, Executive Member

Thursday 19 August 2004 - Adelaide

Aboriginal Legal Rights Movement Inc

Mr Christopher Charles, General Counsel

Mr Neil Gillespie, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Joanna Richardson, Manager, Civil Family & Human Rights Section

Dr Irene Watson, Legal Officer

Australian Legal Assistance Forum

Mr Brian Withers, Member of Justice Access Committee

Law Society of South Australia

Mr Peter Haskett, Member of Council and Executive

Ms Julie Redman, Committee Member

Warndu Wathilli-Carri Ngura Aboriginal family Violence Legal Service Inc

Ms Susan Dodd, Coordinator

Mr Mark Forth, Senior Solicitor

Women's Legal Service (SA) Inc

Ms Cheryl Axleby, Sub Committee Representatives

Ms Zita Ngor

Ms Marilyn Wright

Wednesday 30 March 2005 - Dubbo

Western Aboriginal Legal Service

Mr Richard Davies, Principal Solicitor

Mr Ted Fernando, Chairperson

Ms Lorraine Wright, General Manager

Western NSW Community Legal Centre Inc

Ms Roslyn Barker, Consultant

Mrs Mary Ann Hausia

Ms Kate Wandmaker, Principal Solicitor

Mr Eric Wilson, Chairperson

Thursday 31 March 2005 - Perth

Individuals

Mr Mark Cuomo

Legal Aid Commission of WA

Mr Lex Payne, Practice Manager

Mr George Turnbull, Director

Mr Bevan Warner, General Manager

WA Department of Justice

Ms Wendy Murray, Director, Planning Policy and Review

WA Police Service

Inspector Anthony Galton-Fenzi, Officer in Charge Aboriginal Policy and Services