

Issued: 5 July 2012

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, RESOURCES, FISHERIES AND FORESTRY Inquiry into the Role of Science for Fisheries and Aquaculture Chair: The Hon Dick Adams MP Deputy Chair: Mr Alby Schultz MP

## Inquiry into the Role of Science for Fisheries and Aquaculture — Perth and Hobart public hearings —

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry will hold public hearings in Perth and Hobart on 9 and 12 July respectively on its inquiry into the role of science for fisheries and aquaculture.

The Committee will hear evidence from representatives of university research institutes, environmental groups, industry bodies and State Government agencies. Complete programs can be found on the Committee's webpage: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/arff</u>

## Perth: Monday 9 July from 9:30am to 4:25pm at the Parliament of Western Australia

## Hobart: Thursday 12 July from 9:00am to 4:35pm at the Parliament of Tasmania

Terms of Reference for the inquiry include:

- a) the relationship between scientific knowledge of fish species, ecosystems, biodiversity and fish stock sustainability;
- b) fishery management and biosecurity;
- c) research, development and applied science of aquaculture;
- d) governance arrangements relating to fisheries and aquaculture, including the implications for sustainability and industry development; and
- e) current initiatives and responses to the above matters by state, territory and Australian governments.

Members of the public are welcome to attend to the hearings in each location. Further information can be found on the Committee's website.

Persons and organisations interested in making a submission to the inquiry should contact the Secretariat as soon as possible. The Committee would prefer submissions to be sent electronically to <a href="mailto:arff.reps@aph.gov.au">arff.reps@aph.gov.au</a>. Submitters are encouraged to read the information on preparing a submission available on the committee website before lodging their submission.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, the Hon Dick Adams MP, on (03) 6398 1115 or email <u>D.Adams.MP@aph.gov.au</u>

**Further information:** contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4500, email <u>arff.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/arff</u>