## PARLIAMENT OF AUSTRALIA SECURITY INFORMATION CIRCULAR

Security Circular No: **2010/3** Date: 7 April 2010

## TO: SENATORS, MEMBERS AND OTHER BUILDING OCCUPANTS

## **Emergency Evacuation Exercises—2010**

- 1 Three emergency evacuation exercises are planned for Parliament House during 2010 as follows:
  - (a) Wednesday 21 April 2010 (non-sitting day) Part evacuation of the building to test specific evacuation procedures.
  - (b) Wednesday 21 July 2010 (non-sitting day) General fire evacuation as a result of a security incident to test evacuation procedures.
  - (c) Monday 15 November 2010 (sitting day) A full building evacuation to the internal central areas of the building as a result of a security incident.
- During the exercise on 21 April 2010, specific public and private areas will be evacuated to the external evacuation assembly areas in accordance with the Building Emergency Plan. Details of the remaining exercises will be advised in a separate Security Information Circular closer to the event.
- 3 Each evacuation exercise will be initiated by the **Alert** tone being sounded through the Emergency Warning Intercommunication System (**EWIS**). Evacuation of areas will commence upon the sounding of the **Evacuation** tone through the EWIS. Wardens and Assistant Wardens will manage the evacuation and guide participants to the required assembly areas.
- It is essential that all occupants are familiar with the evacuation procedures. The Presiding Officers have agreed that, for the three parliamentary departments, there be no exemptions from participation in evacuation exercises other than in exceptional circumstances. In particular, staff such as Hansard or Committee Secretariat staff supporting Parliamentary Committees will not be exempted from participating in the exercise to support the operations of other building occupants who choose not to participate.

Any enquiries, or feedback on the conduct of the exercise, should be directed to the Deputy Chief Warden, Mr Brian Sankey, on extn 8127, or by email to <a href="mailto:brian.sankey@aph.gov.au">brian.sankey@aph.gov.au</a>.

Alan Thompson Secretary, Department of Parliamentary Services Chair, Parliament House Security Management Board