Australian Women: Eligibility to Vote, to Sit and First Women Elected to Australian Parliaments

Parliament	Date eligible to vote (assent or commence- ment date)	Date of first election eligible to vote	Date eligible to sit (assent or commence- ment date)	Date of first election eligible to stand	Date first woman elected	Name	Party	Electorate (single-member unless otherwise specified)
SA House of Assembly	21.3.1895	25.4.1896	21.3.1895	25.4.1896	7.3.1959	Joyce Steele	LCL	Burnside
SA Legislative Council‡	21.3.1895	22.5.1897	1.1.1959 ¹	7.3.1959	7.3.1959	Jessie Cooper	LCL	Central No. 2 ²
WA Legislative Assembly	18.5.1900	24.4.1901	3.11.1920	12.3.1921	12.3.1921	Edith Cowan	Nationalist	West Perth
WA Legislative Council‡	18.5.1900	29.8.1900	3.11.1920	13.5.1922	8.5.1954	Ruby Hutchinson	ALP	Suburban
House of Representatives	12.6.1902	16.12.1903	12.6.1902	16.12.1903	21.8.1943	Dame Enid Lyons	UAP	Darwin (Tas)
Senate	12.6.1902	16.12.1903	12.6.1902	16.12.1903	21.8.1943	Dorothy Tangney	ALP	WA ³
NSW Legislative Assembly	27.8.1902	6.8.1904	21.12.1918	25.3.1922	30.5.1925	Millicent Preston- Stanley	Nationalist	Eastern Suburbs ⁴
NSW Legislative Council - appointed	N/A	N/A	27.1.1926	N/A	23.11.1931 ⁵ 23.11.1931	Ellen Webster Catherine Green	ALP ALP	N/A N/A
NSW Legislative Council - popularly elected	10.8.1978	7.10.1978	10.8.1978	7.10.1978	7.10.1978 7.10.1978 7.10.1978 7.10.1978	Virginia Chadwick Marie Fisher Deirdre Grusovin Dorothy Isaksen	Liberal ALP ALP ALP	N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tas House of Assembly	29.2.1904	29.03.1906	14.2.1922	25.3.1922	19.2.1955 19.2.1955	Milly Best Mabel Miller	Liberal Liberal	Wilmot ⁶ Franklin ⁷
Tas Legislative Council†	29.10.1920 ⁸	3.5.1921	14.2.1922	2.5.1922	8.5.1948	Margaret McIntyre	Independent	Cornwall
Qld Legislative Assembly	1.1.1907	18.5.1907	23.11.1915	16.3.1918	11.5.1929	Irene Longman	Progressive Nationalist	Bulimba
Vic Legislative Assembly	31.3.1909	16.11.1911	12.5.1924	26.6.1924	11.11.1933 ⁹	Lady Millie Peacock	UAP	Allandale
Vic Legislative Council‡	31.3.1909	12.5.1924	12.5.1924	4.6.1925	5.5.1979 5.5.1979	Gracia Baylor Joan Coxsedge	Liberal ALP	Boronia Melbourne West

^{1.} A legal challenge to the nomination of women resulted in legislation, with backdated provisions, to enable women to stand for election.

^{2.} First elected in two-member district.

^{3.} Fourth elected at an election where four were elected (usual three plus a casual vacancy). Elected by preferential voting: PR introduced in 1949.

^{4.} Fifth elected in five-member district. Legislative Assembly had multi-member electorates between 1918 and 1926.

^{5.} Until 1934 members of the Legislative Council were appointed by the Governor; from 1934 to 1978 they were elected by both chambers.

^{6.} Elected fifth in six-member district.

^{7.} Elected first in six-member district.

^{8.} Vote extended only to women who had served as nurses in WWI (Constitution (War Service Franchise) Act 1920.

^{9.} By-election to replace her late husband, a former Premier.

[‡] Property qualifications applied. Removed in 1973 in South Australia (Constitution Act Amendment Act 1973, assent 22.11.73); removed in 1963 in Western Australia (Constitution Acts Amendment Act (No. 2) 1963, assent 17.12.63); removed in Victoria in 1950 (Legislative Council Reform Act 1950, assent 11.10.50).

[†] Property and ex-service qualifications applied; removed by Constitution Act 1968 (assent 20.12.68).