LEADERS OF THE HOUSE

	Term of office *
Rt Hon. E. J. (later Sir Eric) Harrison, Vice President of the Executive Council and Minister for Defence Production, later Minister for the Navy and Minister for the Army	May 1951 to September 1956
Rt Hon. H. E. Holt, Minister for Labour and National Service, later Treasurer	September 1956 to December 1965
Hon. D. E. Fairbairn, Minister for National Development	March to October 1966
Hon. B. M. Snedden, Minister for Immigration	February 1967 to November 1968
Hon. G. D. Erwin, Minister for Air	February to September 1969
Hon. B. M. Snedden, Minister for Labour and National Service	November 1969 to March 1971
Hon. R. W. C. (later Sir Reginald) Swartz, Minister for National Development Hon. D. L. Chipp was appointed Deputy Leader of the House in June 1971	March 1971 to August 1972
Hon. D. L. Chipp, Minister for Customs and Excise	August to October 1972
Hon. F. M. Daly, Minister for Services and Property, later Minister for Administrative Services	February 1973 to November 1975
Hon. L. F. Bowen was appointed Deputy Leader of the House in May 1973	
Hon. (later Rt Hon.) I. McC. Sinclair, Minister for Primary Industry	February 1976 to September 1979
Hon. I. Viner, Minister for Employment and Youth Affairs	September 1979 to August 1980
Rt Hon. I. McC. Sinclair, Minister for Special Trade Representations, later Minister for Communications	August 1980 to May 1982
Hon. Sir James Killen, Vice-President of the Executive Council	August to December 1982
Hon. M. J. Young, Special Minister of State and Vice-President of the Executive Council	April to May 1983
Hon. L. F. Bowen, Deputy Prime Minister and Vice-President of the Executive Council	August to December 1983
Hon. M. J. Young, Special Minister of State, later Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs, later Minister for Immigration, Local Government and Ethnic Affairs, Vice-President of the Executive Council and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Multicultural Affairs	February 1984 to December 1987
Hon. K. C. Beazley, Vice-President of the Executive Council and Minister for Defence, later Minister for Transport and Communications, later Minister for Employment, Education and Training, later Minister for Finance	February 1988 to December 1995
Hon. P. K. Reith, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service, later Minister for Workplace Relations and Small Business, later Minister for Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business, later Minister for Defence	April 1996 to September 2001
Hon. A. J. Abbott, Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service, later Minister for Health and Ageing	February 2002 to September 2007
Hon. A. N. Albanese, Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government	February 2008 –

^{*} Terms of office have been shown to coincide with sitting periods of the House. Appointments may actually have been made outside sitting periods. Ministries listed are those held concurrently with the office of Leader of the House.

Updates in red. Note that page numbers may differ from the printed document.