1925. ----

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 16.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

TUESDAY, 14TH JULY, 1925.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Right Honorable W. A. Watt) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General-

Defence-Australian Military Forces-Report for the Inspector-General, by Lieut.-General Sir H. G. Chauvel, G.C.M.G., K.C.B. (Chief of the General Staff), Part I., 31st May, 1925.

Munitions Supply Board-Annual Report from 1st July, 1923, to 30th June, 1924; together with the Annual Report of the Commonwealth Government Clothing Factory for the year ended 30th June, 1924. Tariff Board—Report on Agricultural Implements, and Recommendation in connexion

therewith.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Australian Imperial Force Canteens Funds Act-Fifth Annual Report by the Trustees, 1st July, 1924, to 30th June, 1925 (including the Sir Samuel McCaughey Bequest for the Technical Education of Soldiers' Children).

Ordered to be printed.

Cattle Export Bounty Act-Return of Subsidies paid on Live Cattle exported from the Commonwealth to 30th June, 1925.

Public Service Act-

Appointment of F. H. Taylor, Department of Health.

Regulations Amended-Statutory Rules 1925, Nos. 106, 107.

3. MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL.-ASSENT TO BILLS .- The following Message from His. Excellency the Governor-General was received, and the same was read by Mr. Speaker :-

FORSTER.

Governor-General.

Message No. 9.

Bills intituled :-

" National Debt Sinking Fund Act 1925 ",

" Export Guarantee Act 1925

as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Acts.

Sydney, 8th July, 1925.

F 6205.

4. IMMIGRATION BILL (1925).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate
on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time and on the Amendment moved thereto by
Mr. Charlton, viz. : That after the word "now" the following words be inserted : "withdrawn
and re-drafted to provide more adequate provisions regarding alien immigration, and for the
reconsideration of the drastic proposals to deport Australian citizens"—
Debate resumed.

Mr. Cunningham rising to address the House— Closure.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the question be now put. Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 3	2.	Noes, 24.	ø	
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Lister	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McNeill	
Mr. Bamford	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Blakeľey	Mr. Parker Moloney	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Manning	Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe	
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Marks	Mr. Charlton	Mr. Edward Riley	
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marr	Mr. Coleman	Mr. E. C. Riley	
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Scullin	
Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins	
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Gabb	Mr. West	
Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Pratten	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Yates	
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Lacey		
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Seabrook	Mr. Makin	Tellers :	
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Frederick McDonald	Mr. Fenton	
Mr. Gregory	Mr. William Watson	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Lazzarini	
Sir Littleton Groom				
Mr. Hill	Tellers :			
Mr. Hurry	Mr. Hunter			
Mr. Latham	Mr. Jackson			
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.				

And the question being accordingly put-That the words proposed to be inserted be so inserted-The House divided-

. .

Tellers :

Mr. Hunter Mr. Thompson

Ayes	, 24.	Noes,	32.
Mr. Anstey	Mr. McNeill	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Latham
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Bamford	Mr. Lister
Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Mackay
Mr. Charlton	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Manning
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marks
Mr. Forde	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Marr
Mr. Gabb	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Maxwell
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. West	Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Lacey	Mr. Yates	Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Lazzarini		Mr. Gardner	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Makin	Tellers :	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Frederick McDonald	Mr. Coleman	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Seabrook
Mr. McGrath	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Gregory	Mr. William Watson
		Sir Littleton Groom	

Mr. Hill

Mr. Hurry

Mr. Jackson

And so it was negatived.

And the further question being accordingly put—That the Bill be now read a second time— The House divided—

Ayes,	32.	Noes,	24.
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Latham	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McNeill
Mr. Bamford	Mr. Lister	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Parker Moloney
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Marks	Mr. Charlton	Mr. Edward Riley
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr Marr	Mr. Coleman	Mr. E. C. Riley
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Scullin
Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Gabb	Mr. West
Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Pratten	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Yates
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Lacey	
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Seabrook	Mr. Lazzarini	Tellers :
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Makin	Mr. Fenton
Mr. Gregory	Mr. William Watson	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Frederick McDonald
Sir Littleton Groom	· · · ·		
Mr. Hill	Tellers :		
Mr. Hurry	Mr. Hunter		
Mr. Jackson	Mr. Manning		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

48

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to. Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed ; Mr. Bamford reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except— Mr. Bayley, Sir Austin Chapman, Mr. Corser, Mr. R. W. Foster, Sir Neville Howse, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Killen, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Mann, Sir Granville Ryrie, Mr. Stewart, and Mr. Whitsitt.

> WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.