1925.

## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

### No. 5.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### THURSDAY, 18TH JUNE, 1925.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Right Honorable W. A. Watt) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. WANT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE GOVERNMENT.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Charlton (Leader of the Opposition) :— That the Government is deserving of the severest censure for its flagrant breach of faith in failing to honour the definite promise of the Prime Minister to consult the House before determining where the second cruiser should be built, and for its anti-Australian action in sending millions of pounds out of the country for the construction of both cruisers abroad— Debate resumed.

Question—put.

The House divided---

Ayes,	27.	Noes,	36.
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Hurry
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. O'Keefe	Mr. Bayley	Mr. Killen
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Latham
Mr. Charlton	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Lister
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Mackay
Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Mann
Mr. Gabb	Mr. William Watson	Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Manning
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. West	Mr. Corser	Mr. Marr
Mr. Lacey	Mr. Whitsitt	Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Maxwell
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Yates	Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Mahony		Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Makin	Tellers 1	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Pratten
Mr. W. Maloney		Mr. Gardner	Mr. Prowse
Mr. McGrath	Mr. Coleman	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Seabrook
Mr. McNeill	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Gregory	Mr. Stewart
		Sir Littleton Groom	<b>m</b> 11
		Mr. Hill	Tellers :
		Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Hunter

And so it was negatived.

3. TIME OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m. Question—put and passed.

Mr. Hughes

- 4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at twenty-five minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except— Sir Austin Chapman, Mr. Roland Green, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Marks, Mr. Frederick McDonald, and Sir Granville Ryrie.

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Mr. Thompson

Printed and Published for the GOVERNMENT of the COMMONWEALTH of AUSTRALIA by H. J. GREEN, Government Printer for the State of Victoria

F,6205.