THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 112.

PROCEEDINGS VOTES AND

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. OF

WEDNESDAY, 10TH SEPTEMBER, 1924.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Right Honorable W. A. Watt) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General-

New Guinea--Report by Colonel John Ainsworth (late Chief Native Commissioner, Kenya Colony) on Administrative arrangements and matters affecting the interests of Natives in the Territory of New Guinea.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute-

Public Service Act-Appointment of L. N. Macleod, Department of Trade and Customs.

3. TASMANIA GRANT BILL (1924).—The Order of the Day having been read for the second reading— Mr. Earle Page (Treasurer) moved, That the Bill be now read a second time. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Bamford reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Earle Page, the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

4. Supply [Estimates, 1924-25].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply

(In the Committee.)

Vote-"The Department of the Treasury"-postponed.

Vote-"The Attorney-General's Department, £115,331 "-debated and agreed to.

Vote—"The Home and Territories Department"—postponed. Vote—"The Department of Defence"—postponed.

Vote--"The Department of Trade and Customs, £804,739 "--

Debate ensued.

Closure.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.4713.

The Committee divided—

Ayes, 26.		Noes, 21.	
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Lister	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McNeill
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Mann	Mr. Coleman	Mr. Edward Riley
Sir Austin Chapman	Mr. Manning	Mr. Cunningham	Mr. E. C. Riley
Mr. Corser	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Forde	Mr. Scullin
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Pratten	Mr. Lambert	Mr. West
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Seabrook	Mr. Lazzarini	
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Mahony	Tellers:
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Whitsitt	Mr. Makin	Letters .
Sir Neville Howse		Mr. Mathews	Mr Fenton
Mr. Hurry	Tellers:	Mr. Frederick McDonald	Mr. Parker Moloney
Mr. Jackson	Mr. Hunter		·
Sir Elliot Johnson	Mr. Marr		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Vote "The Department of Trade and Customs, £804,739" was accordingly put and passed.

Postponed Vote—" The Department of the Treasury, £603,513"—

Division No. 17 agreed to.

Division No. 18 debated and agreed to. Division No. 19 debated and agreed to.

Division No. 20—" Invalid and Old-age Pensions office, £91,123"—

Mr. Forde moved, as an amendment, That the amount be reduced by £1.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the amount proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided—

Ayes, 19.		Noes, 24.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Mackay
Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Mann
Mr. Coleman	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Manning
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Corser	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Lambert	Mr. West	Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Lazzarini		Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Seabrook
Mr. Mahony	Tellers :	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Makin	Tellers.	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Whitsitt
Mr. Frederick McDonald	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Gregory	
Mr. McNeill	Mr. Forde	Mr. Hurry	Tellers . •
		Mr. Jackson	Mr. Hunter
		Mr. Lister	Mr. Marr

And so it was negatived.

Division agreed to.

Divisions Nos. 21 to 27 agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Sir Neville Howse reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee. 5. Message from the Senate.—Sea-Carriage of Goods Bill (1924).—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt

of the following Message from the Senate:-

MR. SPEAKER,

Message No. 75.

The Senate returns to the House of Representatives the Bill for "An Act relating to the Sea-Carriage of Goods," and acquaints the House that the Senate has agreed to the Bill with the Amendment indicated by the annexed Schedule, in which Amendment the Senate requests the concurrence of the House of Representatives.

JOHN NEWLAND,

The Senate,

Melbourne, 10th September, 1924.

Deputy-President.

Ordered, by leave—That the foregoing Message be taken into consideration in Committee of the whole House forthwith.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

The Committee proceeded to consider the Amendment made by the Senate, which is as follows:— SCHEDULE OF THE AMENDMENT MADE BY THE SENATE.

Page 2, clause 10, at end of clause add the following sub-clause :-

" (2.) The Rules shall not by virtue of this Act apply to any contract for the carriage of goods by sea made before the commencement of this Act.'

10th September, 1924.

On the motion of Mr. Pratten (Minister for Trade and Customs), Amendment agreed to. Resolution to be reported.

The House resumed; Sir Neville Howse reported accordingly. On the motion of Mr. Pratten, the House adopted the Report.

- 6. Paper.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute—
 - Commonwealth Bank Act—Commonwealth Bank of Australia—Aggregate Balance-sheet at 30th June, 1924, and Statement of the Liabilities and Assets of the Note Issue Department at 30th June, 1924; together with the Auditor-General's Reports thereon.
- 7. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Nauru—Report on the Administration of Nauru, during the year 1923—Prepared by the Administrator for submission to the League of Nations.

 Ordered to lie on the Table.
- 8. Adjournment.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at thirteen minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Bayley*, Mr. Blakeley*, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Malcolm Cameron, Mr. Charlton*, Mr. R. W. Foster, Mr. Gabb, Mr. Gibson*, Mr. Roland Green, Sir Littleton Groom*, Mr. Hill*, Mr. Killen*, Mr. Lacey, Mr. W. Maloney*, Mr. Marks*, Mr. Charles McDonald*, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Prowse*, Sir Granville Ryrie*, Mr. Thompson, and Mr. Yates*.

On leave.

FRANK L. CLAPIN,
Acting Clerk of the House of Representatives.