THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 96.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WEDNESDAY, 13TH AUGUST, 1924.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Right Honorable W. A. Watt) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Royal Australian Naval College, Jervis Bay, and Royal Military College, Duntroon—Report by Professor Sir T. W. Edgeworth David, Major-General Sir C. B. B. White and Captain G. F. Hyde.

Ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Advances to Settlers Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1924, No. 114. Customs Tariff (Industries Preservation) Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1924, No. 99. Invalid and Old-age Pensions Act—Statement for 1923-24.

.3. COMMONWEALTH BANK BILL (1924).—SENATE'S AMENDMENTS.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration in Committee of the whole House of the Amendments made by the Senate in this Bill—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

The Committee proceeded to further consider the Amendments (See pages 341-2 ante)-

Amendments Nos. 7 to 10 agreed to.

Amendment No. 11 debated and agreed to.

Amendments Nos. 12 to 14 agreed to.

Amendment No. 15-

Mr. Earle Page (Treasurer) moved, That the Amendment be agreed to.

Debate ensued.

Question-put.

The Committee divided-

THE COMMITTEE divided				
Ayes, 29.		Noes, 22.		
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Anstey	Mr. Frederick McDonald	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Manu	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. McGrath	
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Manning	Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe	
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Coleman	Mr. E. C. Riley	
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Scullin	
Sir Austin Chapman	Mr. Pratten	Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins	
Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Gabb	Mr. West	
Mr. Corser	Mr. Seabrook	Mr. Lacey	Mr. Yates	
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Lambert		
Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. William Watson	Mr. Lazzarini	Tellers :	
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Whitsitt	Mr. Makin	Mr. Cunningham	
Mr. Roland Green		Mr. Mathews	Mr. Parker Moloney	
Sir Neville Howse	Tellers :		•	
Mr. Hurry	TOWN.			
Sir Elliot Johnson	Mr. Hunter		•	
Mr. Lister	Mr. Marr	1	•	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Amendments Nos. 16 to 24 agreed to.

Amendment No. 25-

Mr. Makin moved, That the Amendment be amended by the omission of the words "the Board" in line 3 of proposed sub-section (3.), and the insertion of the words "mutual agreement, or failing agreement by the Governor-General in Council" in place thereof.

The honorable Member for Parkes (Mr. Marr) addressing the Committee-

Chairman's Ruling-A Point of Order having been raised by Mr. Makin, that certain words used by the honorable Member for Parkes were unparliamentary and should be withdrawn, the Chairman ruled that the honorable Member for Parkes was not out of order.

Dissent from Chairman's Ruling.—Mr. Makin having handed in, in writing, an objection to the Ruling of the Chairman, moved, That the Ruling be dissented from.

Question—put.

The Committee divided—

	Ayes, 20.	Noes, 30.	
Mr. Anstey Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Coleman Mr. Cunningham Mr. Forde Mr. Gabb Mr. Lacey Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin Mr. Mathews	Mr. Frederick McDonald Mr. McGrath Mr. O'Keefe Mr. E. C. Riley Mr. Scullin Mr. West Mr. Yates Tellers: Mr. Fenton Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Atkinson Mr. Bowden Mr. Bruce Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Sir Austin Chapman Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Corser Mr. Duncan-Hughes Mr. Frederick Francis Mr. Gardner Mr. Roland Green Sir Neville Howse Mr. Jackson Sir Elliot Johnson	Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Pratten Mr. Prowse Mr. Seabrook Mr. Stewart Mr. William Watson Mr. Whitsitt Tellers: Mr. Hunter
Mr. Coleman Mr. Cunningham Mr. Forde Mr. Gabb Mr. Lacey Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin	Mr. E. C. Riley Mr. Scullin Mr. West Mr. Yates Tellers: Mr. Fenton	Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Sir Austin Chapman Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Corser Mr. Duncan-Hughes Mr. Frederick Francis Mr. Gardner Mr. Roland Green Sir Neville Howse Mr. Hurry	Mr. Manning Mr. Earle Page Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Pratten Mr. Prowse Mr. Seabrook Mr. Stewart Mr. William Watson Mr. Whitsitt Tellers:

And so it was negatived.

Amendment proposed by Mr. Makin temporarily withdrawn, by leave.

Mr. Roland Green moved, That the Amendment be amended by the omission of the words "appointed by the Board" in line 3 of the proposed sub-section (3.), and the insertion of the words "mutually agreed upon by the other members of the Appeal Board, and failing such agreement the Chairman shall be appointed by the Governor-General in Council" in place thereof.

Question-That the proposed amendment to the Senate's Amendment be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided—

Ayes, 22.		Noes, 27.		
Mr. Anstey Mr. Coleman Mr. Cunningham Mr. Forde Mr. Gabb Mr. Roland. Green Mr. Lacey Mr. Lambert Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin Mr. Mathews	es, 22. Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. O'Keefe Mr. E. C. Riley Mr. Scullin Mr. Watkins Mr. William Watson Mr. West Mr. Yates Tellers: Mr. Fenton	Noes, 2 Mr. Atkinson Mr. Bowden Mr. Bruce Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Sir Austin Chapman Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Corser Mr. Duncan-Hughes Mr. Frederick Francis Mr. Gardner	Mr. Lister Mr. Mackay Mr. Mann Mr. Manning Mr. Earle Page Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Pratten Mr. Prowse Mr. Stewart Mr. Whitsitt	
Mr. McGrath	Mr. Frederick McDonald	Sir Neville Howse Mr. Hurry	Tellers:	
		Mr. Jackson Sir Elliot Johnson	Mr. Hunter Mr. Marr	

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

On the motion of Mr. Earle Page the following amendment to the Senate's Amendment was agreed to:

After the word "Chairman" in the proposed sub-section (3.), insert "chosen by mutual agreement between the other two members or, if those members fail to agree,".

Amendment, as amended, agreed to.

Amendments Nos. 26 and 27 agreed to.

Amendment No. 28 debated.

Mr. Anstey moved, That the Amendment be amended by the omission of the word "the" before"Bank", and the insertion of the word "any" in place thereof.

Debate ensued.

Amendment proposed by Mr. Anstey withdrawn, by leave.

Question—That the Amendment be agreed to—put and negatived.

13th August, 1924.

Amendment No. 29 debated.

Mr. Whitsitt moved, That the Amendment be amended by the omission of the words "money or securities", and the insertion of the word "gold" in place thereof.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Robert Cook reported accordingly.
Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.
 Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seventeen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Bayley, Mr. Charlton, Mr. R. W. Foster, Mr. Josiah Francis, Mr. Gibson*, Mr.
Gregory, Sir Littleton Groom, Mr. Hill, Mr. Hughes*, Mr. Killen, Mr. Latham, Mr.
Mahony, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Marks*, Mr. Maxwell, Mr. Charles McDonald, Mr. McNeill,
Mr. Edward Riley, Sir Granville Ryrie, and Mr. Thompson.

* On leave.

FRANK L. CLAPIN,
Acting Clerk of the House of Representatives.