THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 57

AND VOTES **PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE

WEDNESDAY, 14TH MAY, 1924.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Right Honorable W. A. Watt) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Maxwell presented a Petition, said to contain the signatures of 40,013 Parliamentary electors of the State of Victoria, with reference to the state of affairs in the New Hebrides under the Condominium, and praying that the House will bring the matter before the Imperial Government with a view to bringing about an amicable and honorable arrangement with France, by which the New Hebrides Islands will pass under sole British control. Petition received and read.
- 3. Message from the Senate.—Northern Territory Representation Bill (1924).—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate :--

Message No. 48.

The Senate has passed a Bill for "An Act to amend the Northern Territory Representation Act 1922'," and transmits the same to the House of Representatives for its concurrence.

> THOS. GIVENS, President.

The Senate,

Melbourne, 14th May, 1924.

Mr. Atkinson (Minister representing the Minister for Home and Territories) moved, That the Bill transmitted by the foregoing Message be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Defence Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1924, No. 67.

Northern Territory Acceptance Act and Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Ordinance of 1924—No. 10—Aboriginals.

Mr. Anstey

Mr. Blakeley

Mr. Charlton

Mr. Forde

Mr. Gabb Mr. Gregory

Mr. Lacey Mr. Lazzarini

Mr. Lister

Mr. Mann

Mr. Mahony Mr. W. Maloney

Mr. McGrath

Mr. Cunningham

Public Service Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1924, No. 52.

5. SEAT OF GOVERNMENT (ADMINISTRATION) BILL (1924).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Question—put.

The House divided—

Ayes, 31.	
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Jackson
Mr. Bayley	Mr. Killen
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Latham
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Mackay
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marks
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Austin Chapman	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Corser	Mr. Seabrook
Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Stewart
Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Whitsitt
Mr. Gardner	
Sir Littleton Groom	Tellers:
Mr. Hill	35.35
Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Manning

Mr. Prowse

Noes, 26.

Mr. McNeill

Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. O'Keefe

Mr. Edward Riley Mr. E. C. Riley Mr. Scullin Mr. Watkins

Mr. William Watson Mr. West

Mr. Yates

Tellers: Mr. Fenton Mr. Makin

Mr. Hurry And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Bill read a second time.

F.4713.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1—

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Sir Neville Howse reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Arbitration (Public Service) Act-Determinations by the Arbitrator, &c .-

No. 9 of 1924—Australian Postal Linemen's Union.

Nos. 10, 11, and 12 of 1921—Australian Postal Electricians' Union.

No. 13 of 1924 - Australian Letter Carriers' Association.

Nos. 14, 15, and 16 of 1924—Australian Letter Carriers' Association and Federated Public Service Assistants' Association.

No. 17 of 1924—Australian Postal Assistants' Union, Australian Letter Carriers' Association, and Federated Public Service Assistants' Association.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at fifteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Coleman, Mr. Gibson, Mr. Albert Green, Mr. Roland Green, Mr. Hughes*, Mr. Hunter,
Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Marr, Mr. Charles McDonald*, and Sir Granville Ryrie.

* On leave.

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.