THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 5.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WEDNESDAY, 20th JUNE, 1923.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.—No-Confidence Amendment.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, beg to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Anstey, viz.:—That the following words be added to the proposed Address:—

- "We also desire to inform Your Excellency that as foreign policy reacts upon domestic policy and may be fraught with grave consequences to the self-governing institutions of our country and the welfare of our people; This House therefore declares—
 - (1) That this House should develop the foreign policy Australia is prepared to support and should clearly express the foreign policy it is not prepared to sustain;
 - (2) That only on such conditions should any delegate or delegates be permitted to go abroad to represent Australia; and
 - (3) That on no account should the despatch of such delegation be accepted as an excuse for the suspension of the functions of self-government in this country "—

Debate resumed.

Question—That the words proposed to be added be so added—put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 25.		. Noes, 39.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. McNeill	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Hunter
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Bamford	Mr. Hurry
Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Keefe	Mr. Bayley	Mr. Jackson
Mr. Charlton	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Killen
Mr. Coleman	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Lister
Mr. Forde	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Mackay
Mr. Gabb	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Austin Chapman	Mr. Mann
Mr. Lacey	Mr. West	Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Manning
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Yates	Mr. Corser	Mr. Marks
Mr. Mahony		Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Makin	Tellers:	Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. W. Maloney		Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Frederick McDonald	Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Josiah Francis	Sir Granville Ryrie
Mr. McGrath	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Seabrook
		Mr. Gibson	Mr. William Watson
	ļ	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Whitsitt
		Mr. Gregory	
		Mr. Groom	Tellers:
	İ	Mr. Hill	
	ļ	Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Marr
	1	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Prowse

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Scullin moved, as an amendment, That the following words be added to the proposed

"but we are of the opinion that the Government is deserving of the severest censure for its grave breach of public trust in the sacrifice of the Commonwealth Woollen Mills at Geelong."

Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) addressing the House, and not having concluded his speech, the House ordered that the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech when the debate is resumed. Ordered—That the debate be now adjourned, and that the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for a later hour this day.

- 3. Member Sworn.—Harold George Nelson, Esquire, made and subscribed the Oath required by law.
- 4. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.—No-Confidence Amendment.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, beg to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Scullin, viz.:—That the following words be added to the proposed Address:—

"but we are of the opinion that the Government is deserving of the severest censure for its grave breach of public trust in the sacrifice of the Commonwealth Woollen Mills at Geelong"—

Debate resumed.

Question-That the words proposed to be added be so added-put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 26.		Noes, 34.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Hurry
Mr. Blakeľey	Mr. McNeill	Mr. Bamford	Mr. Jackson
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Bayley	Mr. Killen
Mr. Charlton	Mr. O'Keefe	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Latham
Mr. Coleman	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Lister
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Mann
Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Austin Chapman	Mr. Manning
Mr. Gabb	Mr. William Watson	Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Marks
Mr. Lacey	Mr. West	Mr. Corser	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Yates	Mr. Duncan-Hughes	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Mahony		Mr. Frederick Francis	Mr. Pratten
Mr. Makin	Tellers:	Mr. Josiah Francis	Sir Granville Ryrie
Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Seabrook
Mr. Frederick McDonald	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Whitsitt
		Mr. Roland Green	:-
	İ	Mr. Groom	Tellers:
		Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Marr
		Mr. Hunter	Mr. Prowse

And so it was negatived.

Original Question again proposed.

Mr. Blakeley moved. That the debate be now adjourned.

Question-That the debate be now adjourned-put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 5. Time of Next Meeting.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m. Question—put and passed.
- 6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.
Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-two minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except— Mr. Donald Cameron, Mr. Albert Green, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Maxwell, Mr. Charles McDonald, Mr. Stewart, and Mr. Thompson.

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.