## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 170.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

## WEDNESDAY, 28TH SEPTEMBER, 1921.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., according to the terms of the Resolution of the 22nd July last.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Return to Writ (Maranoa Division).—Mr. Speaker announced that, during the adjournment, he had received a Return to the Writ which was issued by Mr. Deputy-Speaker on the 13th June last, for the Election of a Member to serve for the Electoral Division of Maranoa, in the State of Queensland, in the place of the Honorable James Page, deceased, and that by the indorsement on the Writ it appeared that James Aitchison Johnston Hunter had been elected in pursuance of the said Writ.
- 3. Death of Member and Issue of and Return to Writ (West Sydney Division).—Mr. Speaker announced, with deep regret, the death, on 1st August, of the honorable Member for West Sydney (the Honorable Thomas Joseph Ryan, K.C.), and informed the House that he had, on the 8th August, issued a Writ for the election of a Member to serve for the Electoral Division of West Sydney, in the State of New South Wales, in the place of the deceased gentleman; that the Writ had been returned to him, and by the indorsement thereon it appeared that William Henry Lambert had been elected in pursuance of the said Writ.
- 4. Members Sworn.—James Aitchison Johnston Hunter, Esquire, and William Henry Lambert, Esquire, were introduced, and made and subscribed the Oath required by law:
- 5. THE LATE HONORABLE JAMES PAGE.—Mr. Speaker read to the House a letter which had been received by Mr. Deputy-Speaker from Mr. James Page thanking the House for its resolution of sympathy on the occasion of the death of his father, the late Honorable James Page, M.P.
- 6. The late Honorable T. J. Ryan, K.C.—Mr. Speaker read to the House a letter which he had received from Mr. Tudor, Leader of the Opposition, who was unable to attend the meeting of the House on account of ill-health, expressing regret at the death of the Honorable T. J. Ryan, K.C.
- 7. Mr. Speaker.—Sir Joseph Cook and, subsequently, Mr. Charlton, offered congratulations to Mr. Speaker on his restoration to health.
  - Mr. Speaker returned his thanks to the House and expressed his appreciation of the services rendered during his absence by the Deputy-Speaker (Mr. Chanter) and the Temporary Chairmen of Committees.
- 8. MOUNT MULLIGAN COLLIERY DISASTER.—Sir Joseph Cook moved, by leave, That this House expresses its deep regret at the appalling disaster which recently occurred in the Mount Mulligan Colliery, and its sincere sympathy with the bereaved relatives of those who lost their lives.
  - And Mr. Charlton having seconded the motion, and Mr. Earle Page and other honorable Members having addressed the House in support thereof, and all Members present having risen in silence—Question—passed.
- 9. Death of Member (The Honorable Thomas Joseph Ryan, K.C.).—Mr. Hughes moved, by leave, That this House records its sincere regret at the death of the honorable Member for West Sydney (the Honorable Thomas Joseph Ryan, K.C.), and expresses its appreciation of the energy and ability with which he devoted himself to his public duties, both as a Member of this Parliament and of the Parliament of Queensland, of which State he was for some years Premier; and this House tenders its profound sympathy to his bereaved wife and family in their great sorrow.
  - And Mr. Charlton having seconded the motion, and Mr. Earle Page and other honorable Members having addressed the House in support thereof, and all Members present having risen in silence—Question—passed.
  - Resolved—That Mr. Speaker be requested to transmit to Mrs. Ryan the foregoing Resolution, and a copy of the speeches delivered thereon.

28th September, 1921.

10. Adjournment.—Mr. Hughes, as a mark of respect to the memory of the late honorable gentleman, then moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Atkinson, Mr. Bell, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Fowler, Mr. Gregory, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Livingston, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. McDonald, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Stewart, and Mr. Tudor.

WALTER A. GALE,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.