1912.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 3.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 21st JUNE, 1912.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MEMBER NAMED.—The honorable Member for Capricornia (Mr. Higgs) desiring to ask the honorable Member for Ballaarat (Mr. Deakin) a question—
 - Mr. Speaker stated that the proposed question was not one which could be asked under Standing Order 92.
 - The honorable Member for Capricornia persisting in asking his question, though ruled out of order on each occasion, Mr. Speaker named Mr. Higgs for disregarding the authority of the Chair.

 - Mr. Speaker pointed out that there was no motion on the Paper by the honorable Member for Ballaarat, and asked if any honorable Member seconded the motion to dissent from the ruling, and no Member seconding the motion---
 - The motion thereupon lapsed.
- 3. ADDRESS-IN-REPLY TO HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S SPEECH.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Addressin-Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to by this House :—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, beg to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

- Mr. Fisher addressing the House, and not having concluded his speech, the House ordered that he have leave to continue his speech when the debate is resumed.
- Ordered—That the debate be now adjourned, and that the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.
- 4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Fisher moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at eleven minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.
- **MEMBERS** PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Bamford, Mr. Carr, Mr. Catts, Mr. Chanter, Sir John Forrest, Mr. Hedges, Mr. Hans Irvine, Mr. Livingston, Sir William Lyne, Mr. McDougall, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Scullin, Mr. Bruce Smith, and Mr. Spence.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

13