THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 16.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 29TH JULY, 1910.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- Paper.—Mr. O'Malley presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—
 Federal Capital Site—Water Supply—Discharges of the Cotter River, 20th May to 29th June,
 1910.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

- 3. TELEPHONE EXCHANGE, ULMARRA—PARTICULARS RE.—Mr. Thomson moved, pursuant to notice, That a Return be laid upon the Table of the House, showing—
 - (1) The total cost of establishing the Telephone Exchange at Ulmarra, New South Wales, setting out—
 - (a) Cost of erection of lines.
 - (b) Cost of supervision.
 - (c) Total length of lines in network.
 - (d) Average cost per mile.
 - (e) Cost of each subscriber's telephone instrument.
 - (2) The number of subscribers.
 - (3) What additional officers (if any) have been employed consequent upon the establishment of exchange at Post Office, with salaries paid.
 - (4) The total revenue derived from such exchange including subscribers' fees and trunk-line conversation charges.

Question—put and passed.

- 4. Conciliation and Arbitration Bill (1910).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.
 - Mr. Greene addressing the House, and not having concluded his speech, the House ordered that he have leave to continue his speech when the debate is resumed.
 - Ordered—That the debate be now adjourned, and that the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.
- ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Hughes moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Brown, Mr. Carr, Mr. Catts, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Deakin, Mr. R. Edwards, Mr. Frazer, Mr. Glynn, Mr. Hall, Mr. Harper, Mr. Hedges, Mr. Howe, Mr. W. H. Irvine, Mr. Jensen, Sir William Lyne, Mr. Page, Sir John Quick, Mr. Salmon, Mr. Sampson, and Mr. Watkins.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.