THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 42.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 3RD SEPTEMBER, 1909.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- Supply [Estimates].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.
 Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Fowler reported that the Committee had made progress,
 and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.
 Resolved—That the House will, on Tuesday next, again resolve itself into the said Committee.
- 3. Message from the Senate.—Conciliation and Arbitration Bill (1909) (No. 2).—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:—

MR. SPEAKER,

Message No. 14.

The Senate has passed a Bill for "An Act to amend the Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1904", and transmits the same to the House of Representatives for its concurrence.

A. J. GOULD,

The Senate,

Melbourne, 2nd September, 1909.

President.

4. CONCILIATION AND ARBITRATION BILL (1909) (No. 2).—Mr. Groom moved, That the Bill transmitted by the foregoing Message, intituled "A Bill for an Act to amend the Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1904", be now read a first time.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a first time.

- Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.
- ADJOURNMENT—COUNT OUT.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.
 Debate ensued.

Mr. Hume Cook called the attention of Mr. Speaker to the fact that a quorum of Members was not present.

The Bells having been rung, and a quorum not having been obtained within the prescribed time, Mr. Speaker thereupon, at twenty-seven minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned the House until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except.—Mr. Batchelor, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Tilley Brown, Mr. Thomas Brown, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Foster, Colonel Foxton, Mr. Hall, Mr. Hutchison, Mr. Knox, Mr. Livingston, Mr. Poynton, Mr. Reid, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. Storrer, Mr. Dugald Thomson, Mr. Watkins, Mr. Watson, and Mr. Willis.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.