79

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 31.

PROCEEDINGS VOTES AND

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 6TH AUGUST, 1909.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PRIVILEGE.—DISSENT FROM SPEAKER'S RULING.—The Order of the Day having been read for the consideration of the motion, of which notice had been given at the last sitting, to dissent from a ruling of Mr. Speaker—Mr. Webster moved, That this House dissents from the ruling of Mr. Speaker, that an honorable Member is not entitled to read, from a newspaper, matter reflecting on honorable Members personally.

Debate ensued.

Motion, by leave, withdrawn.

3. Coinage Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the second reading of this Bill—Sir John Forrest moved, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. McDonald reported that the Committee had made progress in the Bill, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.

Resolved -That the House will, on Tuesday next, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. HIGH COMMISSIONER BILL.—Mr. Groom, pursuant to leave given on 20th ultimo, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act to provide for the office of High Commissioner of the Commonwealth in the United Kingdom," and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at thirteen minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT .- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except-Mr. Tilley Brown, Mr. Chapman*, Mr. Edwards, Sir Thomas Ewing, Colonel Foxton*, Mr. Hans Irvine, Mr. Bruce Smith, and Mr. Watson*.

* On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.