1907.

(2nd Session.)

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 1.

WEEKLY REPORT OF DIVISIONS IN COMMITTEE.

WEEK ENDED 18TH JULY, 1907.

WEDNESDAY, 17th JULY, 1907.

No. 1.—Kalgoorlie to Port Augusta Railway Survey Bill (1907).—Consideration, in Committee of the Whole, of His Excellency the Governor-General's Message No. 4.

Motion made—That it is expedient that an appropriation of money be made for the purposes of a Bill for an Act to Authorize the Survey of Route for a Railway to connect Kalgoorlie, in the State of Western Australia, with Port Augusta, in the State of South Australia.

-(The Attorney-General.)

Question-That the proposed resolution be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided-

Ayes, 32.

<i>,</i>	
Mr. Bamford,	Mr. Maloney,
Mr. Batchelor,	Mr. Mathews,
Mr. Chanter,	Mr. Mauger,
Mr. Chapman,	Mr. McDougall,
Mr. Hume Cook,	Mr. O'Malley,
Mr. Coon,	Mr. Poynton,
Mr. Ewing,	Sir John Quick,
Sir John Forrest,	Mr. Sampson,
Mr. Foster,	Mr. Spence,
Mr. Fowler,	Mr. Thomas,
Mr. Fuller,	Mr. Watson,
Mr. Glynn,	Mr. Webster,
Mr. Groom,	Mr. Wise.
Mr. Hedges,	
Mr. Hutchison,	Tellers.
Mr. W. H. Irvine,	Mr. Fisher,

Mr. Frazer.

Noes, 9.

Mr. Archer,	Mr. Wynne.		
Mr. Catts,	•		
Mr. Hans Irvine,	Teller s .		
Mr. Kelly,			
Mr. Palmer,	Mr. McWilliams,		
Mr. Wilson,	Mr. Storrer.		
,			

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. F.7386.

Sir William Lyne,

THURSDAY, 18TH JULY, 1907.

No. 2.—Kalgoorlie to Port Augusta Railway Survey Bill (1907).—Clause 2.

2. The Minister may cause a survey to be made of a route for a railway to connect Kalgoorlie, in the State of Western Australia, with Port Augusta, in the State of South Australia \wedge .

-(The Attorney-General.)

Amendment proposed—That the following words be added to the clause:—"so soon as the States of South Australia and Western Australia have given an undertaking to permit and facilitate the eventual construction of the line by the Commonwealth over whatever route it may select".

-(Mr. Kelly.)

Question—That the words proposed to be added be so added—put.

The Committee divided-

Ayes, 8.		N_0	Noes, 27.	
Mr. Atkinson,	Tellers.	Mr. Bamford,	Mr. Maloney,	
Colonel Foxton,		Mr. Catts,	Mr. Mauger,	
Mr. Hans Irvine,	Mr. Johnson,	Mr. Chanter,	Mr. McDougall,	
Mr. McWilliams,	Mr. Kelly.	Mr. Chapman,	Mr. Page,	
Mr. Palmer,	·	Mr. Coon,	Mr. Sampson,	
Mr. Wynne.		Mr. Ewing,	Mr. Spence,	
ū		Mr. Fairbairn,	Mr. Storrer,	
		Mr. Fisher,	Mr. Tudor,	
		Sir John Forrest,	Mr. Watson,	
		Mr. Frazer,	Mr. Wise.	
		Mr. Glynn,		
		Mr. Groom,	Tellers.	
		Mr. Hedges,		
		Mr. W. H. Irvine,	Mr. Hume Cook,	
		Sir William Lyne,	. Mr. Thomas.	

And so it passed in the negative.