1964.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 5.

WEDNESDAY, 4TH MARCH, 1964.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir John McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL CHANGES.—Sir Robert Menzies (Prime Minister) informed the House that Sir Garfield Barwick, Senator Gorton and Mr. Forbes had this day resigned as Attorney-General, Minister for the Interior, and Minister for the Navy, respectively. In their stead Mr. Snedden had been appointed Attorney-General, Mr. Anthony had been appointed Minister for the Interior, and Mr. Chaney had been appointed Minister for the Navy.
- 3. QUESTIONS .-- Questions without notice were asked.
- PAPERS.—The following papers were presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— Cocos (Keeling) Islands—Report for year 1962-63, Norfolk Island—Report for year 1962-63.
- 5. PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the *Public Works Committee Act* 1913-1960, the following Members be appointed members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works, viz.:—Mr. Brimblecombe, Mr. Buchanan, Mr. Dean, Mr. Fulton, Mr. Griffiths and Mr. O'Connor. Question—put and passed.
- 6. ADDRESS IN REPLY TO THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S SPEECH.—The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:—
 - MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament— Debate resumed.

- Debate adjourned (Mr. Sexton), and the resumption of the debate made an order of the day for the next sitting.
- 7. MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL—ASSENT TO BILLS.—A message from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced informing the House that His Excellency, in the name and on behalf of Her Majesty, had assented to the following Bills:—
 - 4th March, 1964—Message No. 2— Ministers of State 1964. Public Service 1964.
- 8. MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE.—Messages from the Senate were reported acquainting the House of the appointment of Senators to the following committees:—
 - 4th March, 1964—Message—
 - No. 3—Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works—Senators Anderson, Dittmer and Prowse.
 - No. 4-Joint Committee of Public Accounts-Senators Drake-Brockman, Fitzgerald and Wedgwood.
 - No. 5-Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings-Mr. President and Senators Arnold and Hannan.

9. ADJOURNMENT.--Mr. Forbes (Minister for the Army) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Member named and suspended.—Mr. Speaker named the honorable Member for Mackellar (Mr. Wentworth) for disregarding the authority of the Chair.

Mr. Hulme (Postmaster-General) moved, That the honorable Member for Mackellar be suspended from the service of the House.

Question-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Sir John McLeay, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 97.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Clark	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. James	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Allan	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jess	Mr. Reynolds
	Mr. Cockle	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Collard	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Jones	Mr. Roberton
Mr. Aston	Mr. Connor	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Robinson
Mr. Barnard		Mr. Freeth	Mr. King	Mr. Sexton
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Cope	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Shaw
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Costa	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Sinclair
Mr. Beaton	Mr. Courtnay		Mr. Mackay	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Coutts	Mr. Gibbs	· · · · ·	
Mr. Benson	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Stokes
Mr. Birrell	Mr. Crean	Mr. Gray	Mr. Maisey	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Bosman	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Daly	Mr. Hallett	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Davies	Mr. Hansen	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whittorn
Mr. Bury	Mr. Dean	Mr. Harding	Mr. Mortimer	Mr. Wilson
Mr. J. F. Cairns	Mr. Devine	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Nixon	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hayden	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. Cameron	Mr. England	Mr. Holt	Mr. Opperman	
	Mr. G. D. Erwin	Mr. Holten	Mr. Peters	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Chaney	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Pettitt	Mr. Howson
Mr. Chipp	WIT. 1°anos			

NOES, 4.

Mr. Bate Mr. Wentworth

Tellers: Sir W. Kent Hughes

Mr. Turner

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The honorable Member was, therefore, suspended at twelve minutes past eleven o'clock p.m. for twentyfour hours under standing order 305, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber. Question—That the House do now adjourn—put and passed.

And then the House, at fourteen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

PAPERS.—The following papers were deemed to have been presented on the 4th March, 1964, pursuant to statute—

Commonwealth Banks Act—Appointment Certificate—H. J. R. Flood. Norfolk Island Act—Ordinance—1964—No. 1—Conveyancing.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Cross, Mr. Downer and Mr. Uren.

A. G. TURNER,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.