THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 9.

THURSDAY, 8TH MARCH, 1962.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir John McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. QUESTIONS.—Questions without notice were answered.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Customs Tariff—Orders—Customs Tariff (Intermediate Tariff) Nos. 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61. Customs Tariff (Primage Duties)—Orders—Customs Tariff (Primage Duties) Nos. 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for postal purposes—Irishtown, Tasmania.

Papua and New Guinea Act—Superannuation (Papua and New Guinea) Ordinance—Papua and New Guinea Superannuation Board—Tenth Annual Report, for year 1960-61.

Snowy Mountains Hydro-electric Power Act—Snowy Mountains Hydro-electric Authority— Twelfth Annual Report and financial statements, together with the Auditor-General's Report, for year 1960-61.

4. Presentation of Address in Reply.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that the Address in Reply would be presented to His Excellency the Governor-General at Government House on Tuesday next at fifteen minutes past five o'clock p.m.

Mr. Speaker said he would be glad if the mover and seconder, together with other honorable Members, would accompany him to present the Address.

5. Supply ["Grievance Day"].—Pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order No. 291, the Order of the Day having been read for going into the Committee of Supply—

Question proposed—That the Speaker do now leave the Chair.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Snedden addressing the House-

Closure of Member moved.—Mr. Uren moved, That the honorable Member be not further heard.

Question—put and negatived.

Debate continued.

It being fifteen minutes to one o'clock p.m., the debate was interrupted in accordance with Standing Order No. 291.

Question—That the Speaker do now leave the Chair—put and negatived.

Ordered—That the House will, at a later hour this day, resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. Commonwealth Banks Bill 1962.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed. Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

The House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to, after debate. Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Lucock reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Holt (Treasurer), the House adopted the Report, and the Bill was read a third time. F.1719/62.

8th March, 1952.

7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Holt (Treasurer) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Closure.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the question be now put.

Ouestion—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Sir John McLeay, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 59.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anthony Mr. Barnes Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bate Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury Mr. Chipp Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cockle	Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. England Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Falkinder Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Holten Mr. Howson Mr. Jack Mr. Jess	Mr. Kelly Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Leslie Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McMahon Mr. McNeill Mr. Nixon Mr. Opperman	Mr. Roberton Mr. Snedden Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Whittorn Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Chaney Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 57.		
Mr. Armitage Mr. Barnard Mr. Beaton Mr. Beazley Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. D. J. Cameron Mr. Clark Mr. Clay Mr. Collard	Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay Mr. Crean Mr. Cross Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. Davies Mr. Einfeld Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Fuller	Mr. Galvin Mr. Gray Mr. Griffiths Mr. Hansen Mr. Harding Mr. Harrison Mr. Hayden Mr. Haylen Mr. James Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones	Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McGuren Mr. McIvor Mr. Minogue Mr. Monaghan Mr. O'Brien Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Reynolds	Mr. Russell Mr. Sexton Mr. Stewart Mr. Thompson Mr. Uren Mr. Webb Mr. Whitlam Tellers: Mr. Coutts
Mr. Comber	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Duthie

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bird, Mr. McEwen and Mr. Ward.

A. G. TURNER,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.