THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 57.

TUESDAY, 25TH OCTOBER, 1960.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- PAPERS.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—
 Northern Territory—Reasons for revocation of Water Conservation Reserve at Horseshoe Bend.
 The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Banks Act-Appointment Certificates-C. E. H. Rich, E. H. Ryan.

Commonwealth Grants Commission Act—Commonwealth Grants Commission—Twenty-seventh Report (1960).

Education Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1960, No. 80.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for postal purposes—Campbell Town, Tasmania.

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—

Civil Aviation-R. Habib, O. W. Lawry, I. G. Parkes.

Supply—B. E. Best, H. W. Evans, R. M. Hess, W. V. W. Lebedew, W. G. Lewis, D. L. Main, P. R. Malcolm, P. F. Merritt, B. G. C. Roberts, R. Sawczak, R. G. Seecamp.

3. HIGINBOTHAM ELECTORAL DIVISION—ISSUE OF WRIT.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that it was his intention to issue a writ, on Thursday, the 27th October, for the election of a Member to serve for the Electoral Division of Higinbotham, in the State of Victoria, in the place of Thomas Frank Timson, Esquire, M.B.E., deceased. The dates in connexion with the election would be fixed as follows:—

Date of Nomination Thursday, 17th November, 1960.

Date of Polling ... Saturday, 10th December, 1960.

Date of Return of Writ ... On or before Saturday, 14th January, 1961.

4. Temporary Chairman of Committees.—The following Warrant, nominating a Temporary Chairman of Committees, pursuant to Standing Order No. 17, was laid upon the Table by Mr. Speaker:—

The Parliament of the Commonwealth.

House of Representatives.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order numbered 17, I do hereby nominate— The Honorable William Crawford Haworth,

to act as Temporary Chairman of Committees when requested so to do by the Chairman of Committees. Given under my hand this twenty-fifth day of October, One thousand nine hundred and sixty.

J. McLeay,

Speaker.

5. Leave of Absence to Members.—Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That leave of absence for one month be given to the honorable Member for Watson (Mr. Cope) on the ground of Parliamentary business overseas, to the honorable Member for Banks (Mr. Costa) on the ground of public business overseas, and to the honorable Members for Brisbane (Mr. Lawson) and Grey (Mr. Russell) on the ground of ill health.

Question-put and passed.

F.8210/60.

6. UNITED NATIONS—GENERAL ASSEMBLY—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT—MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), That the Paper [presented on the 20th October, 1960], viz.:—

General Assembly of the United Nations-Ministerial Statement-

be printed—And on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:—That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to inserting the following words in place thereof:—"the Prime Minister erred in not conferring with all Commonwealth countries before moving his amendment to Mr. Nehru's motion, failed to serve the interests of Australia and the cause of world peace, provoked a public disagreement among Commonwealth countries and compromised Australia with the new members of the United Nations"—

Debate resumed.

Closure.—Mr. Pearce moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 53.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cash	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Roberton
Mr. Allan	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Failes	Mr. Jess	Mr. Snedden
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Chresby	Mr. Forbes	Mr. King	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Turner
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Whittorn
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Halbert	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McMahon	
Mr. Browne	Mr. Downer	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Murray	Tellers:
Mr. Bury	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Holt	Mr. Opperman	Mr. Pearce
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howson	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 40.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Crean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Curtin	Mr. James	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bird	Mr. Daly	Mr. Johnson	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Davies	Mr. Jones	Mr. Peters	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Fulton	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr. Reynolds	
Mr. Clark	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Killen	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Clay	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Makin	Mr. Uren	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the question—was put accordingly, and passed.

Motion withdrawn, by leave.

7. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Excise Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1960, No. 77.

Marriage (Overseas) Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1960, No. 76.

Post and Telegraph Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1960, No. 79.

Public Service Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1960, No. 78.

Public Service Arbitration Act—Public Service Arbitrator—Determinations—1960—

No. 43—Association of Architects, Engineers, Surveyors and Draughtsmen of Australia.

No. 44—Postmaster-General's Department Heads of Divisions and Branches Association.

No. 45—Australian Workers' Union.

8. Adjournment.—Mr. Davidson (Postmaster-General) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Aston, Mr. Bate, Mr. Beaton, Mr. Cope*, Mr. Costa*, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Holten, Mr. Jack, Mr. Lawson*, Mr. McColm*, Mr. Russell*, Mr. Sexton, Mr. Wentworth* and Mr. Wheeler.

*	On	leave.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.