THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 56.

WEDNESDAY, 21st OCTOBER, 1959.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—

Commonwealth Telegraphs Agreement—Commonwealth Telecommunications Board—Eighth General Report for 1958, and Statement of Accounts for year ended 31st March, 1958. Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Australian Wool Testing Authority Act—Australian Wool Testing Authority—Second Annual Report and financial statement, together with the Auditor-General's Report, for year 1958-59. Commonwealth Grants Commission Act—Commonwealth Grants Commission—Twenty-sixth Report (1959).

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—

Defence-J. D. Simmonds.

National Development-D. J. F. Forman.

Stevedoring Industry Act—Australian Stevedoring Industry Authority—Report and financial statements, together with the Auditor-General's Report, for year 1958-59.

Sugar Agreement Act—Fruit Industry Sugar Concession Committee—Twenty-eighth Annual Report, for year ended 31st August, 1959.

Wool Research Act-Second Annual Report, for year 1958-59.

3. Public Works Committee—Report.—Mr. Fairhall (Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works:—

Report relating to the proposed construction of a Supreme Court Building at Darwin, Northern Territory.

Ordered, after debate, to be printed.

4. Income Tax and Social Services Contribution Assessment Bill (No. 2) 1959.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed.

Mr. Duthie rising to address the House-

Closure.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the question be now put.

Question-That the question be now put-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

AYES, 58.

Mr. Adermann	Mr. Bury	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Stokes
Mr. Allan	Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jack	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Cash	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Joske	Mr. Timson
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Fairhall	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr. Turner
Mr. Aston	Mr. Chresby	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. King	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bland	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Halbert	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McMahon	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Murray	Tellers:
Mr. Browne	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holt	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howson	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Turnbull

21st October, 1959.

		Noes, 36.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Cope	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Makin	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Costa	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bird	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Crean	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Jones	Mr. Reynolds	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Daly	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Russell	
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Davies	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Clark	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Uren	Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Bill be now read a second time—was put accordingly, and passed.—Bill read a second time.

The House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 1 to 3, by leave, taken together, and agreed to.

Clause 4 debated and agreed to.

Clause 5-

Mr. Crean moved the following amendment:—Pages 3-9, omit all words after "repealed" (page 3, line 2) to the end of the clause.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the clause—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bowden, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 56.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anderson	Mr. Cash Mr. Chaney Mr. Chresby	Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Joske Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. King	Mr. Timson Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston	Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer	Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McColm	Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bandidt Mr. Barnes Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean	Mr. Halbert Mr. Hamilton Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McMahon Mr. Murray	
Mr. Browne Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury	Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury	Mr. Holt Mr. Howson Mr. Hulme	Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Stokes	Tellers: Mr. Opperman
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jack	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 36.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. Bryant	Mr. Clark Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Fulton Mr. Griffiths Mr. Haylen Mr. Johnson	Mr. Makin Mr. Minogue Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard	Mr. Ward Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Cairns Mr. Calwell	Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin	Mr. Jones Mr. Kearney	Mr. Reynolds Mr. Russell	Tellers:
Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Clarey	Mr. Daly Mr. Davies	Mr. Lawson Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Thompson Mr. Uren	Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Clause agreed to.

Clause 6-

Mr. Wentworth moved the following amendment:—Page 10, at the end of the clause add the following sub-paragraph:—

"'(xxxiv) the Commonwealth Literary Fund, including conditional gifts: Provided that such have been accepted by that Fund in the prescribed manner.'".

Debate ensued.

Amendment negatived.

Clause agreed to.

Clauses 7 and 8, by leave, taken together, and agreed to.

Clause 9 debated.

Question-That the clause be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bowden, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 54. Mr. Drury Mr. Jack Mr. Stokes Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. D. A. Car Mr. Cash Mr. Chaney Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Erwin Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Joske Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Anderson Mr. King Mr. Turner Mr. Fairhall Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Lindsay Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. Bandidt Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull Mr. Halbert Mr. McColm Mr. Barnes Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Hamilton Mr. McMahon Mr. Hasluck Mr. Murray Mr. Dean Mr. Browne Mr. Holt Mr. Howson Mr. Buchanan Mr. Downer Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Drummond Mr. Bury

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

21st October, 1959.

		Noes, 35.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clark	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cope	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Reynolds	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. Jones	Mr. Russell	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Stewart
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Daly	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Uren	
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Davies	Mr. Makin	Mr. Ward	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Remainder of Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. McMahon, the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at nine minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Sir Garfield Barwick, Mr. Casey*, Mr. Failes*, Mr. J. M. Fraser, Mr. Freeth, Mr. Haworth*, Mr. Howse, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Killen, Mr. McIvor, Mr. Nelson*, Sir Earle Page*, Mr. Peters*, Mr. Riordan*, Mr. Sexton* and Mr. Snedden.

* On leave.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.