THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 50.

WEDNESDAY, 30TH SEPTEMBER, 1959.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Apple and Pear Organization Act-Australian Apple and Pear Board-Thirteenth Annual Report, for year 1958-59, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act. Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Health—J. H. Lewis.

War Service Homes Act—Report for year 1958-59.

Wine Overseas Marketing Act—Australian Wine Board—Thirty-first Annual Report, for year 1958-59, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act.

- 3. Messages from the Senate.—Messages from the Senate were reported—
 - (a) returning the following Bill without amendment:—30th September, 1959, a.m.—Message No. 69—Social Services 1959, and
 - (b) acquainting the House that the Senate had agreed to the Amendment made by the House in the following Bill:-30th September, 1959, a.m.-Message No. 70-Repatriation 1959.
- 4. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS.—Mr. Townley (Minister for Defence) moved, pursuant to notice. That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow. Question—put and passed.
- 5. SUPPLY—ESTIMATES 1959-60.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Department of Civil Aviation, £12,140,000"— Vote—" Department of Shipping and Transport, £1,240,000"—

Votes further debated.

Mr. Jones rising to address the Committee-

Closure.—Mr Osborne (Minister for Air) moved, That the question be now put.

Ouestion—That the question be now put—put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Timson, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 58.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cash	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Roberton
Mr. Allan	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Forbes	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr. Stokes
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Chresby	Mr. Fox	Mr. Killen	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Aston	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. King	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Halbert	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wheeler
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holten	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howse	Mr. McMahon	
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howson	Mr. Murray	Tellers:
Mr. Bury	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jack	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Opperman
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Joske	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 40.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clay	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Makin	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cope	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. O'Connor	TALL WILLIAM
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Jones	Mr. Reynolds	Tellers:
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Daly	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Russell	_ 0
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Davies	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Clark	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Uren	Mr. Stewart
	1 .00			

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

30th September, 1959.

And the question—That the Votes be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed. Ordered-That the following Votes be now taken, and considered together:-

Vote—" Department of Territories, £310,000"-

Vote—" Northern Territory, £5,881,000"—
Vote—" Australian Capital Territory, £4,191,000"—

Vote—" Norfolk Island, £32,000 "-

Vote-" Papua and New Guinea, £13,142,000"-

Vote—" Cocos (Keeling) Islands, £36,000 "-

Votes debated and agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Ordered—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Mr. Whitlam addressing the House-

Closure.-Mr. McMahon (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the question be now

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 52.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Bandidt Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury Mr. Cash	Mr. Chaney Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox	Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Halbert Mr. Hasluck Mr. Holten Mr. Howse Mr. Howson Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kelly Mr. Killen	Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McMahon Mr. Murray Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz	Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 28.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. Calwell Mr. Clarey	Mr. Clay Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin	Mr. Davies Mr. Fulton Mr. Griffiths Mr. Haylen Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones	Mr. Luchetti Mr. Minogue Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Reynolds Mr. Uren	Mr. Ward Mr. Whitlam Tellers: Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at six minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anderson, Mr. Browne, Mr. Casey*, Mr. Failes*, Mr. Haworth*, Mr. Holt, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Nelson*, Sir Earle Page*, Mr. Riordan*, Mr. Sexton and Mr. Snedden.

٠	On	leave.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.