1959.

### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### No. 2.

### WEDNESDAY, 18TH FEBRUARY, 1959.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MEMBER SWORN .- William John Fulton, Esquire, made and subscribed the Oath required by law.
- 3. MEMBER NAMED AND SUSPENDED.—Mr. Speaker named the honorable Member for Kingsford-Smith (Mr. Curtin) for not resuming his seat when directed by the Chair to do so. Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That the honorable Member for Kingsford-Smith be suspended
  - from the service of the House.

Question—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anderson Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Bandidt Mr. Barnes Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bate Mr. Bowden Mr. Browne Mr. Browne Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury	Mr. Casey Mr. Cash Mr. Chaney Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes	Ayes, 71. Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Halbert Mr. Halbert Mr. Hamilton Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Holten Mr. Howse Mr. Howson Mr. Hulme	Mr. Joske Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Kelly Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McEwen Mr. McMahon Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton	Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. Calwell Mr. Clarey Mr. Clay	Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. Davies Mr. Evatt	Mr. Jack Noes, 39. Mr. Fulton Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. Johnson Mr. Kearney Mr. Lawson	Mr. Snedden Mr. Makin Mr. McIvor Mr. Minogue Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Reynolds Mr. Reynolds Mr. Riordan	Mr. Russell Mr. Sexton Mr. Thompson Mr. Uren Mr. Ward <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Luchetti Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

- The honorable Member was, therefore, suspended at twelve minutes past three o'clock p.m., for twenty-four hours under Standing Order No. 302, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.
- 4. SUSPENDED MEMBER—RE-ADMISSION TO HOUSE.—Mr. Calwell moved, by leave, That the honorable Member for Kingsford-Smith (Mr. Curtin) be permitted to resume his seat upon tendering an apology to the Speaker and the House. Question—put and passed.
  - Mr. Curtin returned to the House and tendered an apology.
- 5. INDONESIAN FOREIGN MINISTER—VISIT TO AUSTRALIA—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.—Mr. Casey (Minister for External Affairs), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with reference to the visit to Australia of the Foreign Minister of Indonesia and its significance to Australian-Indonesian relations. Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, also made a Statement in connexion with the matter.

18th February, 1959.

- 6. PAPERS .- The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-
  - Conciliation and Arbitration Act—Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Commission— Second Annual Report by President, for year ended 13th August, 1958.

Egg Export Control Act—Australian Egg Board—Eleventh Annual Report, for year 1957-58, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act.

Lands Acquisition Act-Land, &c., acquired for-

Civil Aviation purposes-Mascot, New South Wales.

Postal purposes—Adelaide, South Australia.

- Meat Export Control Act—Australian Meat Board—Twenty-third Annual Report, for year 1957-58, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act.
- Public Service Arbitration Act—Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Commission— Determination No. 128 of 1958 (Appeal from Determination by the Public Service Arbitrator 1957, No. 61—Musicians' Union of Australia).
- Stevedoring Industry Act—Australian Stevedoring Industry Authority—Report and financial statements, together with the Auditor-General's Report, for year 1957-58.
- 7. TEMPORARY CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES.—The following Warrant nominating Temporary Chairmen of Committees, pursuant to Standing Order No. 17, was laid upon the Table by Mr. Speaker:—

The Parliament of the Commonwealth.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order numbered 17, 1 do hereby nominate— Frederick Charles Chaney, Esquire,

Joseph James Clark, Esquire,

Laurence John Failes, Esquire,

Charles William Jackson Falkinder, Esquire,

Anthony Sylvester Luchetti, Esquire,

Philip Ernest Lucock, Esquire,

The Honorable Norman John Oswald Makin,

Edward William Peters, Esquire,

Thomas Frank Timson, Esquire, and Bruce McDonald Wight, Esquire,

to act as Temporary Chairmen of Committees when requested so to do by the Chairman of Committees. Given under my hand this eighteenth day of February, One thousand nine hundred and fifty-nine.

> J. MCLEAY, Speaker.

8. ADDRESS IN REPLY TO THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL'S SPEECH.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament— Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Turnbull), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Hulme (Minister for Supply) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at four minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bland, Mr. Clark and Mr. Murray.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.