THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 39.

WEDNESDAY, 10th SEPTEMBER, 1958.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Daly presented a Petition from certain citizens of Australia praying that the House will give immediate consideration to the matter of increasing the rate of pension to at least 50 per cent. of the basic wage and the liberalizing of certain other social service benefits. Petition received and read.
- 3. HANSARD REPORT OF MINISTER'S SPEECH—STATEMENT.—Mr. Townley (Acting Minister for Trade), by leave, made a Statement with reference to certain words relating to the raising of revenue appearing in the *Hansard* report of a speech on the Budget made by Mr. McEwen (Minister for Trade) on the 14th August which conveyed a sense different from that which Mr. McEwen intended.
- 4. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Nationality and Citizenship Act—Return for year 1957-58.

Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Regulations—1958—No. 10 (Supply of Services Ordinance).

PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS.—Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service)
moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business
to-morrow.

Question-put and passed.

6. SUPPLY—ESTIMATES 1958-59.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Department of Labour and National Service, £2,161,000"—

Vote—" Department of National Development, £1,517,000"—

Vote-" Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, £6,075,000"-

Vote—" Australian Atomic Energy Commission, £1,574,000 "— considered together.

Votes debated and agreed to.

Defence Services-

Vote—" Department of Defence, £1,088,000"—

Vote-" Department of the Navy, £42,401,000 "-

Vote---" Department of the Army, £63,512,000"-

Vote—" Department of Air, £59,302,000 "-

Vote-" Department of Supply, £21,757,000 "-

Vote—" Other Services, £1,940,000"—considered together.

Votes debated.

The Committee continuing to sit until after midnight—

THURSDAY, 11th SEPTEMBER, 1958.

Debate continued.

Mr. L. R. Johnson rising to address the Committee-

Closure.—Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.5884/58.

10th and 11th September, 1958.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 50.		
Mr. Allan Mr. Anderson Mr. J. D. Anthony Mr. Aston Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden	Mr. Chaney Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drury	Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Graham Mr. Hasluck Mr. H. E. Holt Mr. Howson Mr. Hulme	Mr. Luck Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. Osborne Mr. Roberton	Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Erwin Mr. Falkinder Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox	Mr. Jack Mr. Killen Mr. Lawrence Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Snedden Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson	Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 19.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bruce Mr. Bryant	Mr. Clarey Mr. Cope Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin	Mr. Griffiths Mr. L. R. Johnson Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin	Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell	Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Votes be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Ward addressing the House-

Closure.—Mr. Holt moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 51.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson
Mr. Allan	Mr. Chaney	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Luck	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Turner
Mr. J. D. Anthony	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Aston	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wilson
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Dean	Mr. H. E. Holt	Mr. McColm	
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Downer	Mr. Howson	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Roberton	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jack	Mr. Snedden	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Killen	Mr. Stokes	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bury	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Swartz	
		Noes, 19.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cope	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Crean	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Makin	Mr. Russell	Mr. Stewart
· ·				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at seventeen minutes past two o'clock in the morning, adjourned until this day at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Edmonds, Mr. Failes, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. James, Mr. H. V. Johnson, Mr. Leslie, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Peters and Mr. Watkins.

A. A. TREGEAR,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.