1958.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 37.

THURSDAY, 28TH AUGUST, 1958.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.--Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPER.-The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute---Public Service Act-Appointments-Department of the Treasury-J. I. Coat, F. Juhasz.
- 3. MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL-ASSENT TO BILLS.-A Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced informing the House that His Excellency, in the name and on behalf of Her Majesty, had assented to the following Bills:----
 - 26th August, 1958-Message No. 34 Customs Tariff (No. 3) 1958. Customs Tariff (Canadian Preference) (No. 2) 1958. Customs Tariff (New Zealand Preference) (No. 2) 1958. Customs Tariff (Papua and New Guinea Preference) 1958.
- 4. SPECIAL ADJOURNMENT .- Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Tuesday, the 9th September, at half-past two o'clock p.m. Question-put and passed.
- 5. SUPPLY-ESTIMATES 1958-59.-The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

- Ordered-That the Votes for the Department of the Interior, the Department of Works and the Department of Civil Aviation be considered together, and that the Votes for the Department of Customs and Excise. the Department of Trade and the Department of Primary Industry then be taken and considered together.
- Vote---" Department of the Interior, £4,993,000 "---
- Vote—" Department of Works, £3,374,000 "— Vote—" Department of Civil Aviation, £11,389,000 "—
- Votes debated.

Mr. Beazley rising to address the Committee-

Closure .--- Sir Philip McBride (Minister for Defence) moved, That the question be now put.

Question-That the question be now put-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)---

		Ayes, 43.		
Mr. Allan	Mr. Dean	Mr. Graham	Mr. McColm	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Turner
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Haworth	Sir E. Page	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bury	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Killen	Mr. Snedden	
Mr. Chaney	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Stokes	Tellers:
Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Timson	Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 27.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Daly	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Webb
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Clark	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cope	Mr. Galvin	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Costa	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Coutts	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Ward	Mr. Luchetti
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. Kearney		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

F.4933/58.

And the question—That the Votes be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed. Vote—" Department of Customs and Excise, £4,230,000 "— Vote—" Department of Trade, £1,848,000 "— Vote—" Department of Primary Industry, £1,593,000 "— Votes debated and agreed to. Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE.—A Message from the Senate was reported returning the following Bill without amendment :—

28th August, 1958—Message No. 46—Christmas Island 1958.

- 7. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Philip McBride (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at nineteen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until Tuesday, the 9th September, at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. J. D. Anthony, Mr. Brand, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. J. M. Fraser, Mr. Griffiths, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. R. W. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. James, Mr. H. V. Johnson, Mr. Mackinnon, Mr. McEwen, Mr. McMahon, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Russell, Mr. Watkins and Mr. Wheeler.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives