THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 55.

TUESDAY, 19TH NOVEMBER, 1957.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Australian Coastal Shipping Commission Act—Australian Coastal Shipping Commission—First Annual Report and financial statements, for period 1st October, 1956 to 30th June, 1957.

Australian National Airlines Act—Australian National Airlines Commission—Twelfth Annual Report and financial accounts, for year 1956-57.

Lands Acquisition Act-Land, &c., acquired for-

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization purposes—Mareeba, Oueensland.

Shipping and Transport purposes—Marsden Point (Kangaroo Island), South Australia.

Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinance—1957—No. 16—National Capital Development Ordinances Repeal.

3. RESERVE BANK BILL 1957.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed.

Ordered-That Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) be granted an extension of time.

Ordered—That Mr. Ward be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Russell), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Fairhall (Minister for the Interior) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at four minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bowden*, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Costa*, Mr. Daly, Mr. Davis*, Mr. Drury, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Falkinder*, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. Galvin*, Mr. Graham, Mr. Harrison*, Mr. James, Mr. H. V. Johnson, Mr. Leslie*, Mr. Lucock*, Mr. McIvor*, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Morgan, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Peters, Mr. Pollard*, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Roberton, Mr. Snedden, Mr. Turner, Mr. Watkins*, Mr. Wheeler* and Mr. Wight.

*On leave.

A. G. TURNER,
Acting Clerk of the House of Representatives.