THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 38.

WEDNESDAY, 2ND OCTOBER, 1957.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.--Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Public Service Act—Appointment—Postmaster-General's Department—N. C. Riddiford.

Public Service Arbitration Act—Determinations—1957-

No. 66—Amalgamated Engineering Union and others.

Nos. 67 and 68—Australian Broadcasting Commission Staff Association.

Wine Overseas Marketing Act-Australian Wine Board-Twenty-ninth Annual Report, for year 1956-57, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act.

- 3. Message from the Senate.—A Message from the Senate was reported returning the following Bill without amendment:-
 - 1st October, 1957-Message No. 49-Commonwealth Grants Commission 1957.
- 4. SUPPLY—ESTIMATES 1957-58.—The House, according to Order resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Remainder of Vote-" Parliament, £986,000"-debated and agreed to.

Vote—" Prime Minister's Department, £2,837,000"—debated and agreed to. Vote—" Department of External Affairs, £2,221,000"—debated.

Mr. Ward addressing the Committee-

Closure.—Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the question be now

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 50.							
Mr.	Anderson	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson		
Mr.	Aston	Mr. Davis	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Luck	Mr. Townley		
Mr.	Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wentworth		
Mr.	Beale	Mr. Downer	Mr. Graham	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wilson		
Mr.	Bostock	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm			
Mr.	Brimblecombe	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McEwen	Tellers:		
Mr.	Buchanan	Mr. Failes	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McMahon			
Мг.	Bury	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. H. E. Holt	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Opperman		
Mr.	Chaney	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Howson	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Turnbull		
Mr.	Cleaver	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Joske	Mr. Stokes			
Mr.	Cramer	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Killen	Mr. Swartz			
			Noes, 23.				
Mr.	Bird	Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Ward		
	Bruce	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Luchetti			
Mr.	Bryant	Mr. Cope	Mr. Haylen	Mr. McIvor	Tellers:		
	Cairns	Mr. Coutts	Mr. R. W. Holt	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Stewart		
Мr.	Calwell	Mr. Crean	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Webb		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Vote be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

2nd and 3rd October, 1957.

5. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Philip McBride (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Ordered—That Mr. Clarey be granted an extension of time. Debate continued.

The House continuing to sit until after midnight-

THURSDAY, 3RD OCTOBER, 1957.

Debate continued.

Several Members rising to address the House-

Closure.—Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 50.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anderson Mr. Aston Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Bostock Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury Mr. Chaney Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Graham Mr. Hamilton Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. H. E. Holt Mr. Howson Mr. Joske	Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Killen Mr. Lindsay Mr. Luck Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne Mr. Roberton Mr. Stokes	Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bird	Mr. Clarey	Noes, 25. Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Tellers:
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Clark	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Cope	Mr. R. W. Holt	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Luchetti
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Coutts	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Ward	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Crean	Mr. Makin	Mr. Webb	
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Curtin	Mr. McIvor		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eighteen minutes past twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until this day at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan, Mr. Barnard, Mr. Beazley, Mr. Bowden*, Mr. D. A. Cameron, Mr. Casey*, Mr. Costa*, Mr. Drury, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Harrison*, Mr. Howse, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Jack*, Mr. James, Mr. Kearney, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Lucock, Mr. Morgan, Mr. Peters, Mr. Pollard*, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Russell, Mr. Snedden, Mr. Turner*, Mr. Watkins*, Mr. Wheeler*, Mr. Whitlam and Mr. Wight.

*On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.