THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 60.

WEDNESDAY, 19TH SEPTEMBER, 1956.

- The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Broadcasting and Television Act—Australian Broadcasting Control Board—Eighth Annual Report, for year 1955-56.

Explosives Act—Explosives Regulations—Order—Berthing of a vessel.

War Service Homes Act—Annual Report for year 1955-56.

3. Leave of Absence to Member.—Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That leave of absence for two months be given to the honorable Member for Kennedy (Mr. Riordan), on the ground of ill health.

Question—put and passed.

4. Precedence to Government Business.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Question—put and passed.

 Broadcasting and Television Bill (No. 2) 1956.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 61.				
Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anderson Mr. Aston Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Bland Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden	Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes	Mr. Freeth Mr. Graham Mr. Hamilton Sir E. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. H. E. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Howson	Mr. Lawrence Mr. Luck Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McMahon Mr. Osborne	Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson		
Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. Chaney Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Fairhall Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Howson Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Killen Nors, 42.	Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Snedden Mr. Stokes	Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. Bruce Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Chambers	Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Coutts Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. R. W. Holt Mr. H. V. Johnson Mr. L. R. Johnson Mr. Kearney	Mr. Lawson Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McIvor Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard	Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Webb Mr. Whitlam Tellers: Mr. Duthic Mr. Stewart		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

19th September, 1956.

Mr.	Speaker	left the	Chair,	and	the	House	resolved	itself in	nto a	Committee	of the	Whole.
-----	---------	----------	--------	-----	-----	-------	----------	-----------	-------	-----------	--------	--------

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Davidson (Postmaster-General), the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

6. Social Services Bill 1956.—Mr. Roberton (Minister for Social Services) moved, by leave, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Social Services Act 1947–1955.

Question—put and passed.

Mr. Roberton then brought up the Bill accordingly, and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

7. Post and Telegraph Rates Bill 1956.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—

Debate adjourned (Mr. Bruce), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

8. Adjournment.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-eight minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Brand, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Fairbairn*, Mr. Leslie, Mr. Lindsay, Mr. Menzies, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Riordan*, Mr. Townley and Mr. Watkins.

* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.